A Whole Lot Of Cutting Going On

It took me all of one day to cut out all of these 5 1/2″ squares. I don’t trust my cutting skills enough to cut through multiple layers. So I have to cut one, cut another, cut another. One by one.

There’s over 200 squares in these two stacks.

The first stack I “thought” I knew what I was going to make. But after seeing them on my design wall, I am not so sure. I think I need something BOLD. Flowery or something with a big print to go in the empty spaces along the left and right sides. I may still go with this design. Just rearrange the colors. Looks like one end is all dark.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The little stack is for my “new” back for my Dresden Plate quilt. I ended up using the back I made for the front. So now I have to make a different back. I have an idea on how I want it to look. Just need to sit and sew for a spell.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And, guess what? You won’t believe it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yep. My first attempt at quilting. Free Motion Quilting. I was trying to do the Stippling stitch, but I tell ya, my hats are off to anyone coordinated enough to control the stitching to create a design. I had the toughest time. My stitches were loose and some skipped. I couldn’t get them adjusted properly. I tried the minus. The plus. And in between. Nothing worked to my satisfaction. I even had my manual out. I think I need to take a trip to the Janome sewing place to get some expert advice. And the videos on You Tube made it seem so easy. Not!! BUT… I am happy to get my feet wet. So glad I did a test run on some scrap fabric.

4 comments on “A Whole Lot Of Cutting Going On

  1. lol You’re brave Donna! When i did some quilted oven mitts, I just did a simple grid of lines for the quilting… no way was I ambitious enough to try free motion even though I could- feed dogs can be lowered on my machine.

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    I’ve tried free motion quilting several times. One really has to be coordinated to do it. It is definitely not as easy as it looks. I need lots more practice.

Leave a Reply

