No Brown In This One

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not quite the look of Spring but no brown either!! 😀

Black, green and mustard yellow with a touch of white. But first, before I go into the details of my newest Dresden Plate, let me ask you this…

Anyone remember this?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They were really popular in the 70’s and 80’s. Country themed fabric panels. I can’t remember if you bought them by the panel or by the yard. But I remember buying up a bunch of them in the early 80’s. And making up a bunch. Wall hangings on wicker mats and circular wooden hoops. I had the panels in green, blue, peach and of course, BROWN!!

Can you believe after all these years, I found 3 panels in my stash!! I fussy cut around the geese to get some flowered green pieces. Then I cut strips for borders where I could.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And after all that… I ended up removing what I thought were the prettiest blades. The ones I used to make hearts. Oh well. The plate was too large and some wedges had to go.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Which border arrangement do you like best? Or maybe I won’t add one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

6 comments on “No Brown In This One

  1. Lennette Whited says:

    Your plate is GORGEOUS Donna!!! All of these years, you haven’t wanted to quilt and you should have, because you have an amazing eye for colors and patterns!!! Your fabric choices are spot on!!! They are gorgeous!!!

  2. Betty says:

    Well, let me see. They all flow but I think I like the one in the middle the best. The patterns are all so beautiful.

  3. Tanya says:

    Your designs are very interesting and colorful. Have you ever entered any of your work in a County Fair?
    Yesterday, I went to one of my favorite thrift stores. You never know what you will find on any given day.
    To my surprise, there were two kits of pre-cut quilt patches that were ready to be sewn together. I didn’t know such a thing existed! I was really tempted to buy them, but it would just be something else that would probably sit around until I got “a round tuit!”
    I passed them by, but it was nice to know that something like that is available now. It would save many hours of cutting time.

  4. don_mae says:

    Lennette, thank you. Yep, I am trying to catch up on all those years I was “thinking” of learning. 😀

    Thanks much, Betty. I may go borderless for this one. Or make one more plate like this and do a small wall hanging. I have just enough of the mustard fabric to make it work.

    Tanya, never entered my work in anything except one bracelet. I submitted the design to an on-line contest. I still have the rejection e-mail. LOL!! Thanks for asking.

    And thanks everyone for your kind words on my work. I am so enjoying creating quilt blocks.

  5. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna!
    The first border with the green would be my choice. I think it’s because that border is more muted and so it makes the Dresden Plate, itself, pop! Adding the mustard color pulls attention away from the crisp center design. But that’s just my two cents…. everything you make is lovely so it’s hard to choose favorites! 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Spot on!! You are so right about the mustard color border. It does pull your attention away from the center. Out it goes. 😀

      Thanks, Crystal!!

Leave a Reply

