My New Weight Loss Program

Who knew!! Quilting has a built in side benefit.

You would think that making a quilt involved mostly sitting at the sewing machine. Nope. I am doing more standing and walking than I ever did making jewelry and crocheting.

I am standing when I work with my fabric. I am standing when I measure it and cut it. I am walking into the next room to press the quilt pieces. I am walking into a completely different room to place the pieces on my design wall. Back and forth.

And surprise!! Guess what happened?

I lost seven pounds.

I don’t have time to eat. I don’t want food. I want to look at delicious quilts in all different colors, shapes and designs. I want to sew them all.

If I keep up the same pace throughout the rest of this year, I can say good-bye to 21 more pounds. Wish me luck!!

9 comments on “My New Weight Loss Program

  1. DeeDee Nunez says:

    That’s great! I certainly know that it isn’t easy to take off those extra pounds. Maybe I should take up quilting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Grandma V says:

    Congratulations on the weight loss – who would have thought!!!

  3. Debra says:

    That’s awesome Donna! Keep it up!

    I just ran by one of my ideas to the bf, and I *think* I have his okay to do it. You can see it on my blog, most recent post. Should be a lot of fun, we can do it together, and it will add visual interest to the room.

  4. Lennette Whited says:

    What a wonderfully creative way to shed pounds Donna!!! Congratulations!!!

  5. Crystal says:

    Patent it, Donna!
    “The Quilter’s Diet”! Just think of all the fabric you can buy with the royalties! ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s really fun to see how much you are enjoying your newest pastime! (My favorite pattern has always been the Dresden Plate.) ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    I know what you mean. When I sew a block or several, then I have to get up to go iron them. Back and forth, etc. It makes you move. The puppy also makes me move…it’s a good thing.

  7. Betty says:

    HI DONNA

    Your quilts are so beautiful! I think you are doing wonderful creative patterns!! That is a lot of work. You are doing really great!

    I have been wearing my jewelry. People like what I wear!

    Our Council is April 7-9 here. Do you want me to try sell more?

    The hanger I got to put my plant hanger on makes my plant hanger too low. My ceilings are lower than I thought. I will have to try something different! It is still hanging but I do not have the plant in it yet.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty.

      So glad you are enjoying wearing your jewelry. Yes, if you can, that would be great to sell whatever you can. I still have to mail you the labels.

      Regarding your plant hanger… I have more of the green macrame cord. I will make a shorter version for you.

      Thanks much.

  8. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. I am really, really liking making Dresden Plates. I have gone kind of crazy cutting out them out. Five done with more to go!! Thanks much.

Leave a Reply

