A Plate Full Of Dresdens

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Moving on. Drunkard Path… Log Cabin… And now the Dresden Plate.

I found a quilt block on-line that I really, really like. But before I tackle it, wanted to make a practice block first. Since I had lots of scraps from the first quilt I made, thought I would use up some of them. (Yeah, I know. Brown again. But you know how much I LOVE brown!!)

This is the tutorial I used to make the wedges.  http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/?p=6713

Easy to follow. I printed out the template on hardstock paper and got to cutting.

 

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

 

Sewing was easy, too. I did chain piecing following along with this You Tube video. It saves time and thread.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPb5J-vdO5E

Ta-dah!!  Here is my practice block.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I have to sew the wedges together and decide on the center. I kind of like the ivory vine fabric they are sitting on now. Maybe use the same fabric for the center. And not decided yet on how to attach the plate to the foundation. Machine sew or handstitch.

Decisions, decisions.

5 comments on “A Plate Full Of Dresdens

  1. KipperCat says:

    I like this! I’m not a quilter, but enjoy looking at quilts.

  2. Maria Teresa D. Valente says:

    Agradeço as sugestões e dicas maravilhosas que nos envia. Muito sucesso, abraços carinhosos de Maria Teresa

  3. Hand sew! That’s what I’m doing with my Dresdens. 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      I think I will. Though it will take lots longer.

      I don’t like to look of the zig zag on the block in the tutorial. It is so pretty and the zig zag messes it up.

      Wonder if you could just “quilt” over the wedges and tack them down that way?

  4. Betty says:

    Donna

    The blade is very pretty. I do like the ivory color in the center. Excellent creating!!!

Leave a Reply

