Quilt Top #2 Finished

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ready for Stitch In The Ditch!!

Finished sewing on the borders yesterday. I settled on the beige and giraffe print fabrics since I was out of the gold color and couldn’t find anything I liked on-line or in the stores.

I bought 6 yards of the giraffe print to use for the backing and binding. Any leftover, I think I will make a couple of pillows or pillowcases.

I have learned so much. Between getting tips from my quilter friends and the net, there were tons of resources to help guide me. Such as, the correct way to square up my fabric, measure and cut it. The different techniques for sewing on borders.

If you are thinking about learning to quilt, do a Google search or You Tube search on the quilting process. Hundreds, thousands of useful tips at your fingertips.

And so many pretty quilts. I have probably 40 quilts bookmarked. It will take years to make up all the ones I like.

But I am enjoying it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilt top measures 82 1/4″ by 82 1/4″.

8 comments on “Quilt Top #2 Finished

  1. Tanya says:

    Your quilt top is really beautiful!
    Isn’t it great to be fueled by creativity?
    Do you sew these for just yourself, or for gifts or charities?
    It is really nice! Keep up the good work!

    • don_mae says:

      Oops… Tanya, I forgot to answer your question.

      Right now, I am just learning so I am making what I like, just for me. Maybe one day when I think they are good enough, I’ll test the waters. But so many people already sell quilts. (Thank you!!)

      BTW, your prize is being mailed today. 😀

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    It looks great!

  3. Kokopelli says:

    You jumped right into quilting, Donna! Love what you did so far. This one has an African touch I think. Love it!

  4. Lennette Whited says:

    I love it Donna!!! It’s GORGEOUS!!!!! You have come so far in such a short time and you should be SO proud of yourself!!!!!

  5. You did a wonderful job on the log cabin, Donna!

  6. Debra says:

    This turned out gorgeous Donna! I LOVE it! The border fabrics are perfect. 🙂

  7. don_mae says:

    Thank you everyone. Really appreciate your comments.

    Now, I am loving Dresden Plates. OMG!! What have I started!!

Leave a Reply

