Barn Raising… Barn Raising??

I am learning all sorts of things. Did you know there is a name for just about every quilt that was ever made? Dating back to when cloth and dirt were invented.

When I was searching for Log Cabin quilt designs, I found out the quilt I am making is called Barn Raising. As in, get all the neighbors together for beer and pizza and throw up a barn in several hours.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Who names these quilts!!!

For as long as it has taken me to make 66 blocks, my quilt would have to be called Tree Planting. We have to go wayyy back.

But… the blocks are finished and I even have two spares. I won’t even tell you why there is a week between this post and the last.

Oh, ok. I’ll tell you. I ran out of the gold fabric with the painted dots. After a trip to the fabric store and leaving empty handed, I searched on-line and actually found it at eBay. The exact fabric!! An hour after it arrived, I started back to sewing the last batch of blocks. I only needed 20 but what the heck, made two extra. I can make a pillow.

Here’s how my Barn Raising blocks look on my design wall.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I added my own design on the corners. My bookends. And along the edges. Follow the giraffe print with your eyes. I wanted a continuous line.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It measures 76″ by 76″. 8 blocks per row. 8 rows. Each block is 9 1/2″.

Now I need to sew the blocks together and add the borders. After which, I’ll stare at it for several days. Then it goes in the To-Be-Quilted pile. 😀

10 comments on “Barn Raising… Barn Raising??

  1. Tanya says:

    Your post on the quilt names is interesting. The Amish and Mennonite people are the ones who did a lot of barn raising. I don’t know if that is where the name originated or not. To this day, they still keep the tradition of quilting alive and make some beautiful quilts.
    Your design is very interesting. I haven’t gotten bit by the quilting bug yet. My paternal grandmother used to hand sew very intricate designs.

  2. Nana betty says:

    That is just awesome, Donna. You must have been a quilter in a previous life! LOL!

  3. That looks great Donna. I think I mentioned in a previous comment that I’m making log cabin blocks, too. One thing that surprises me is how far away from the quilt you have to stand for the pattern to be distinguishable. Have you noticed that too? Up close all I see are log cabin blocks. From a distance, or through a camera lens, its a whole different story.

    I’ll be curious to see what you decide to do for borders and binding.

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks so much for your comments. I am learning so much. I spend about an hour a day, reading tips, techniques and researching quilt patterns and designs. I guess you could say, I am hooked!!

    Mosaicthinking, yep, you are right, up close you don’t get the full story of the design. It was hard trying to get the whole quilt in my camera lens. It wouldn’t adjust any smaller so I couldn’t get all four corners. I am thinking of 2 borders. One ivory and one giraffe print. Not sure yet on the back and binding.

  5. Crystal says:

    It looks wonderful, Donna!!!!

    I’m crazy about that giraffe print!!! 🙂

    Hubby must be so impressed!

    xo 🙂

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    Love it! Get to sewing and quilting 😉

  7. Lennette Whited says:

    It’s beautiful Donna, absolutely beautiful!!! One of the prettiest quilts that I’ve EVER seen!!!! I love what you did with the corners…it’s AWESOME!!!!!!!

  8. Oooohhh! You’ve got a barn and some outhouses! 🙂

    Just beautiful!

  9. Belinda says:

    I told you that you soon be designing quilts! 😉 😀 This is beautiful! I love what you did with the corners. Now, I can’t wait to see how you quilt your quilts.

  10. Melissa says:

    That quilt is absolutely gorgeous, love love love the burnt orange colors (to my computer screen). very autumn feeling!

Leave a Reply

