44 Log Cabin Blocks Finished, 20 To Go

My latest batch is finished. 22 log cabin blocks. Pressed and added to my design wall. Early this morning. Had to wait until just now to photograph. Needed sunlight. Real light.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you can see, four more blocks will finish off the right edge. And maybe another row at the top and one at the bottom.

BUT, first….

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Time to scrape the bottom of the barrel. I am just about out of this animal print fabric and had to search through the scrap bin to see what I could use. There’s lots here that I had previously discarded. When I was doing my “fussy cutting.” They are looking good, now!!

Is this enough to make 4 more blocks? I think so.

Currently, my quilt top measures 75″ across (8 blocks wide) and 58″ down (6 blocks long). I like it.

For the other 16 blocks, should I decide to go a fourth assembly line round, I will need to visit the fabric store.

10 comments on “44 Log Cabin Blocks Finished, 20 To Go

  1. Nana betty says:

    It will be an amazing quilt!
    I love the design made by the giraffe print.
    That was an excellent choice.
    This will be a stunning quilt, you should be very proud!
    You go, Girl!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Nana, very much. Yes, I am quite proud of how it is turning out.

      Quilting is helping my weight-loss program. I forget to eat!!

  2. 🙂 Lookie at you go! Just beautiful, Donna!

    pppssst? have you quilted your first top yet?! Or are you like me…make the tops and go onto the next? I have four tops I need quilt, three are sandwiched and pinned ready to go.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Michelle, you knew I would love quilting, didn’t ya!!

      I’ll probably end up with them stacked up, too. I like the sewing the pieces together part a lot.

      Not quilted the 1st one yet. I plan to use my 2 tables to do it. So wanted to finish sewing the 2nd one before I clear everything off. But I am definitely ready to try my hand at it.

  3. Betty says:

    Those quilts are so beautiful. Shows how creative you are!!!

  4. I’m doing a series of 64 log cabin blocks at the moment, too. My next job is to count up how many I’ve done and how many I still need to do. I suspect I will also be looking at a number close to 20 still to do.

    I like the pattern on your design wall and your colour choices.

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    It is great! Your color choices are marvelous.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Sharon.

      I can’t go any farther. Now I am out of the gold fabric I am using for two of the rounds. I found 1/2 yard on eBay and waiting for it to arrive. It should be enough to finish up the last 20 blocks I started.

Leave a Reply

