Already Started My 2nd Quilt

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

8 blocks finished. Trying a Log Cabin design this time.

And trying to stick to the directions per the letter. Even squared up my fabric before starting to cut. Cut off 1/2″ to remove the selvages. Seemed like such a waste but I totally understand why. The selvage threads are woven tighter than the rest and could distort my quilt when washed. So, off to the scrap heap you go. You Selvages!!

These are the fabrics I am using. Shown here cut in strips. 1 1/2″ wide.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t completely stick to the “light” and “dark” concept. On the dark side, I added two rows of gold. Mixed in with the browns. I wanted to repeat it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is my first time doing string piecing. Like assembly line style. But it works up fast.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The fun part is deciding on an arrangement. So many ways to place the blocks. Once I have a few more made up, it will be easier to decide.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I know, I know…….

You are probably thinking, “Did she finish her first quilt?” Nope, but I do have the backing fabric now so I can get started quilting it.

9 comments on “Already Started My 2nd Quilt

  1. Debra says:

    I love this one! Not sure which square arrangement I like best, they all look neat. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Debra.

      Now you have to make a quilt. Don’t let me have all the fun!!

      • Debra says:

        Yeah I know! Mom still hasn’t unearthed my giant bag of squares, and I have no clue where she may have stashed them.

        I got my fiberfill for the footstool thing I am gonna do. Have some of the vinyl already cut (1 of 3 colors) so just need to cut the rest and get to stitching.

        Maybe one day I will learn how to finish a project before moving on to the next one!

  2. I like the light in the middle, so far. ๐Ÿ™‚ So many ways to arrange log cabins blocks!

    I finished quilting my orange top, binding made, now it’s time to sew on the binding.

    You’re doing an awesome job, Donna!

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    Definitely awesome!

  4. Lennette Whited says:

    It’s looking fantastic Donna! That’s one of the wonderful things about log cabin blocks…you can make so many different arrangements!!

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you. Thank you. THANK YOU!!

    I really like how the log cabin blocks work up. I already have the fabric for my next two quilts picked out. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    Donna, where did you get your template for the Drunkard’s Path blocks? I have to make my youngest a quilt using a panel and wanted to put those blocks around it.

Leave a Reply

