New Carousel Buttons Macrame Plant Hangers

When I got tired of working on my quilt top, I made several macrame plant hangers. 3 of them. All made from my Carousel Buttons pattern. I wanted to see if I could make them, as you would, strictly from following the directions.

First, I made this white one.

With nothing but snow covering the yards, walkways, streets, even trees… I thought if I wanted to see Spring anytime soon, I had better create it myself.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t the bottom pretty?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next came the mauve one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have had this color cord for a few years. It kind of photographs pink but it is a dusty rose color. It turned out better than I thought it would. I like it. And it looks great in my mauve/green room.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For this one, I changed up the bottom a bit. Instead of the bottom row of Square Knot Buttons being ABOVE the ring, I put them under the ring. So they point downwards instead of out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Last, I made this cream one.

Several years ago I went through my “cream period”. Everything I macramed was made with this color cord. About 40 items. I only had 300 yards left. So I used most of it on this plant hanger.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This vase is on loan from the dining room.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I plan to make a few more like these. Won’t need to look at my instructions. Have them memorized. Plant hangers measure a little over 6 feet.

If you would like to make your own Carousel Buttons plant hanger, go here for the pattern. Thanks!!

http://www.etsy.com/listing/69800943/pattern-for-macrame-plant-hanger

8 comments on “New Carousel Buttons Macrame Plant Hangers

  1. Tanya says:

    What is the gauge (mm) of yarn that you are using for the white and cream-colored hangers? Is the yardage the same for the thinner gauge?
    Where do you order your materials?
    As always, the hangers are really breathtaking to look at!

  2. don_mae says:

    Hi Tanya!!

    I usually work with 6mm BRAIDED macrame cord for plant hangers. 6mm is supposed to be 6mm but as with anything, you will find slight variations among manufacturers.

    Example.. the wine and cream cords “feel” thinner than the others those the label states 6mm for all.

    I wouldn’t go less than 6mm or more than 6mm.

    Less, and you will need more cords to fill in the spaces along the ring. More, and you will need larger rings and longer cords. Smaller cord or larger cord just won’t make up the same as mine.

    The cord I used for these plant hangers came from Munro Crafts and King Kountry. I have links to both in my sidebar. Get 6mm BRAIDED macrame cord.

    Thanks much for your compliments on my work. Appreciate it.

    • Tanya says:

      Thanks for your reply also!
      I am really surprised that the cream colored cord is 6mm. It appears like a three or four mm in the picture. That is why I asked.
      I understand your explanation about the differences in the brands.
      The other reason I asked about the mm is because I have seen patterns using beautiful white cord. The cord appears like it is a cotton 3 mm-type cord. I don’t know what type it is or where to get it. I love the Bonnie Braid, am not too fond of the twisted cord, but will use it, and I don’t prefer to work with Jute.
      I still have to decide what I want to order so I can get my supplies all at one time. The shipping is so expensive!
      Thanks for your prompt reply. Happy knotting!

  3. Betty says:

    They are all very beautiful. Not sure which color I will get next.

  4. Nicole says:

    where can I get a pattern? only new to macramé. Is this just knotting? I’ve read that some people crochet them. I definately cannot crochet!

  5. Varga Zsuzsa says:

    Kedves!
    Nagyon tettszik nekem a virágtartó.
    Hol tudom megvásárolni a makramé virágtartót?

  6. great issues altogether, you just gained a new reader. What could you suggest about your publish that you just made a few days in the past? Any positive?|

Leave a Reply

