Seeing Red… And Pink

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Every February around Valentine’s Day, I like to make something in red or with hearts.

Last year, if you remember, I was up to my eyeballs in purple, lime, pink and white. Hearts were everywhere. Piles stacked, strung as a garland, even in a Shadowbox. I had gone heart crazy!!

 

This year, I dialed it back a bit and just did a couple of things. Actually just one NEW item. A little girl’s red and pink purse.

A Little Missy Purse.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The other two were already made. I just added pink hearts and pink ribbon to the mauve one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And undid the bottom on this red one to shorten it by about 6 inches.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then added a red and white hearts bow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My original plan was to add heart buttons…. But went with the bow instead. I will probably, later on, add a red lining.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Cute as Mother and Daughter, huh!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hope you have a special Hearts Day!! Happy Valentine’s Day.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

10 comments on “Seeing Red… And Pink

  1. LOL! Did you hear me giggle when I read you ‘dialed it back’ some?

    Very cute purse!

    Happy Valentines Day…even if it is a stupid day. ;P

    • don_mae says:

      LOL!! Thanks!!

      It’s an OK day. I no longer get the candy, flowers. My hips already show way too many boxes of candy and flowers make me sneeze. So I get dinner and a couple Lotto tickets instead.

  2. Debra says:

    Donna, the mauve one is cute! Happy Valentines Day!

  3. Maria K says:

    I sent the purse tutorial to my mom, she loved it and is out buying some new supplies! Might have to send here this post nd ask for a mom/daughter set for mothers day;)

    Thanks for bringing back so many fond memories of macrame crafts with my mom!

  4. Crystal says:

    That Mom/Daughter set is adorable!!! 🙂
    It reminds me of when, years ago, little girls and their mothers might get a new pocketbook (along with a new hat) for Easter! I remember some of those little purses I had. Fun times! 🙂

  5. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Debra.

    Maria K, glad to see macrame is coming back and your mom is going to enjoy it again.

    Crystal, fun times indeed. If my hands would cooperate, I would macrame more. After a few projects, they ache so much, I have to take a break. But I do love doing it.

    Thanks, everyone. 😀

  6. Julia P says:

    How very cute with the purses! I would love to have something like that for my daughter and granddaughter! And those are more practical than just heart stuff cause they can use them all year round. :o)
    Oh and the quilt is beautiful!!! How do you find enough time to dabble in everything??? Macrame, quilts, crochet, jewelry, mercy me girl!! LOL

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Julia P.

      Thanks much!! I can make up some purses for you if you want. Let me know.

      My hubby said I don’t know what I want to do. LOL!! I switch up when I get bored.

      Thanks for the comment on my quilt. I am getting there. I added two borders and hopefully the backing fabric I ordered on-line will arrive today so I can start the quilting process.

  7. siya says:

    bt how to make purse plzz tel me

Leave a Reply

