#2 Ready To Sew And Fussy Cutting

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

First, I want to thank each of you for leaving comments here regarding my first quilted star. I really appreciate your kind words and encouragement. And also, the same “thank you” goes out to those who commented via e-mail. Thank you!! Thank you!!

OK… what am I doing now, you ask.

Here’s Number 2.

It is ready for me to sew. Squares cut, folded and ironed. You can’t tell it but I had to piece together two of the black squares. Was using scrap fabric. Seams will be well hidden by the top layer.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will probably use the black and white print for the edging. It is calling out to me.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s the beginning of #3.

I couldn’t find a yard of the exact leopard print I wanted, so I am doing a bit of surgery on this piece. One of my quilting friends said this is called Fussy Cutting. Boy, I am learning so much!! 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This one may end up weird looking. I have a design in my head but don’t really know if it will work until I put all the pieces together.

So… if you are looking for me…. I’ll be fussy cutting and sewing.

AND macraming. I promised one of YOU that I would do a tutorial on closing up a macrame purse. I am going to do a really quick Lil Miss Purse. A little girl’s purse. In brown and cream. Should be able to make it and have the tutorial posted by tomorrow.

That’s my plan.

7 comments on “#2 Ready To Sew And Fussy Cutting

  1. s says:

    OMG, HOW in the world do you get ALL this done!!! You are incredabily talented! And I want some of your energy to get some of my jewelry UFO’s completed!

  2. Lennette Whited says:

    Donna, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…you are so talented!! Your fabric selections are amazing and your placement of those fabrics is spot on!!! You are turning in to a quilter Lil’ Missy and you should be so proud of yourself!!!!

  3. Betty says:

    Donna, I am confident that you will be able to bring your dream to reality. The color are so unique. (Like you) You are so gifted. Do you already have hats and scarves for men made? My cousin has a birthday Feb 3.

  4. Grandma V says:

    Love the black heart fabric – you are taking to quilting like a duck takes to water !!! Very nice. You are amazing- you get so much done in so little time.

  5. Crystal says:

    I’m with Grandma V on the heart fabric! It’s so pretty!!!

    I had a feeling when you started that you would want to make a bunch of these! They are all going to be beautiful, Donna.

    Glad the beads arrived quickly. (I chose most of the free ones with your “favorite” colors in mind.) 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      WOW!! Thanks so much, Crystal, for the free beads. I can definitely use them in my designs. You’ve got some really nice selections in your Etsy shop. I’ll be back!!

  6. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone.

    I REALLY REALLY REALLY LOVE these fabrics together.

    My 3rd one isn’t going so well. The fabrics just don’t seem to work. I will probably erase the image in my head and replace it with something more palatable.

Leave a Reply

