Here’s My Take on Working With Tila Beads

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sigh. Sigh. Sigh….

I do that a lot when I am designing jewelry. I don’t plan to. It just happens. Every time I have to UNTHREAD and RETHREAD my needle.  It’s my least favorite part when designing and creating something from scratch. No pattern. Just working from a vision in my head.

And designing this Tila bead bracelet was no different. Lots of sighs.

But, finally, it is done.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can add it to my December completed list.  And it came out about 99% as I envisioned.  I did consider several other buttons and different types of closures but kept going back to this olive button. I even thought of exchanging it for a slightly larger size. Glad I didn’t. This one is just the right size.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

At first I wasn’t sure if I was going to like working with Tila beads. Since I had already labeled them as “problem” beads based on what I had read on the net. Supposedly, they needed to be handled with kid gloves. Be careful unwrapping them. Be careful handling them. And so on and so on. Diva beads.

BUT…. turned out that wasn’t the case at all. I enjoyed working with them.

Here is my REVIEW of Tila Beads.

  • 2 hole design makes alignment easy
  • large holes allow for multiple passes with ease
  • use fine or extra fine beading needle for best results
  • no breakage, cracking or chipping
  • can even pull thread tight without worry
  • horizontal, vertical or diagonal possibilites
  • picks up lint and anything else airborne

That last one was about the only dislike I found. I frequently had to go wash my hands. I couldn’t believe what the beads picked up as I worked with them. Dust, lint, fingerprints. I felt like hosing them down every 30 minutes.  😀

I highly recommend them if they are on your To Buy List. Yes. Do. Go. Buy. Some. You won’t be disappointed.

I LOVE MY BRACELET!!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


There are free designs for Tila jewelry on the net. Here are the ones I know about. If you know of any others, let us know.

http://aroundthebeadingtable.blogspot.com/2010/10/more-free-tila-bead-bracelets.html

http://beadwork.about.com/sitesearch.htm?q=tila+bead&SUName=beadwork

http://aroundthebeadingtable.blogspot.com/2010/10/free-tila-bead-pattern.html


This is a This Year’s Dozen original design. Please do not copy, distribute or post elsewhere without my permission. Thanks.

10 comments on “Here’s My Take on Working With Tila Beads

  1. Crystal says:

    So very stunning, Donna! 🙂

    The “lint” part would be a negative for me, too, but the beads do look beautiful made into a finished piece!

    My next question would be… Can they take everyday wear? I mean, will they hold up with the minor bumps a bracelet can take in the course of an ordinary day? I wonder if that’s what the reviews on the net are referring to?

  2. denise says:

    beautiful design. Love the sparkle and thanks for the links to the free patterns.

  3. Debra says:

    Very pretty Donna! I love the colors on this one! I’ve got some holiday sewing lined up in my head… went through my pattern box this evening while at my mom’s and found some stuff I’d like to do for this winter and coming spring. Joann’s has a free shipping thing for tomorrow so gonna browse their site this evening and see what I can find. 🙂

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone, and thanks!!

    Crystal, I am now thinking the Tila beads will be ok. They held up really well as I was working with them. I even pushed the envelope with the number of passes. I was certain I would eventually split or break one but they held up with me pulling the thread through with my pliers. I have the edges covered with picot so they are protected. I think it’s going to be ok.

    Denise, you are very welcome.

    Debra, I got several organizers from JoAnn’s on sale with free shipping 2 weeks ago. I was going to get more but THIS WEEK’s sale has them $5.00 higher. 😦 Gonna wait until the price goes back down. Have fun shopping on-line. Are you going to buy fabric?

    • Debra says:

      Yup, I got some fabric. Posted my plans to my blog earlier this evening with pics of the fabrics. I can’t wait to get started! These next three (planned) projects plus fixing a few other things should keep me busy for a few weekends. Kind of sad I won’t get to work on it over the holiday when we will be at my mom’s but oh well. The stuff won’t go anywhere, if its even arrived by then.

  5. Kokopelli says:

    Your tila bracelet looks awesome! Those beads are the BIG NEWS around here atm, but they’re extremely expensive. I have to think about buying some.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Dagi!!

      They are kind of expensive around here too, for what you get. I get them in packages of 10 gram on-line. My LBS wants between $21-34 for 50 grams. Ouch.

  6. Once again, beautiful work Donna!

  7. KipperCat says:

    Your bracelet is gorgeous! I’ve really enjoyed seeing what everyone is doing with these.

Leave a Reply

