Surrounded By Men

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One of my errands today took me to Home Depot, the hardware store.

Talk about being out of your Comfort Zone!! Do they ever have the customers. I had to dodge wooden planks sticking out of carts everywhere. And those rolling things. That look like a golf cart. You could step up on them and make your way through traffic. Picking up passengers. If you wanted to. All aboard!!

I mean, gosh guys. Leave some space for this little old lady just trying to find the Nuts and Bolts department.

Found it!! Look what I got.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have lots of ideas. Let’s see where they take me.

6 comments on “Surrounded By Men

  1. Kokopelli says:

    STEAMPUNK! YAY! One tip for going to Home Depot or other hardware stores: do it more often and soon you’ll feel comfortable in there (despite the looks of all the men). Been there, done that. 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Dagi, yep, I have a few Steampunk or Beadpunk ideas floating around in my head.

      You are right about going to hardware stores more often. I feel so out of place in them. But the workers are very helpful and friendly. Especially in Home Depot.

      I have gone to other hardware stores to buy just ONE large ceiling tile. (I use them as a macrame board.) Home Depot will sell me one tile. The others want me to buy a whole box.

  2. Crystal says:

    Home Depot is to Hubby as Joanne’s Fabrics (and Michael’s, etc.) are to me! LOL

    We both see the value in the “spouses’s choice” but would rather spend hours in our own store of choice.

    My mother-in-law always LOVED to visit the local hardware store in any new town they were visiting. Often those local stores have great little housewares sections!

    If you are searching for steampunk stuff though – I agree that Home Depot can be “nuts, bolts and washers ‘r’ us”! 😉

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Crystal, I was in Home Depot buying paint to cover plastic. I had read about it years ago but never tried it. I got all the colors. Going to paint a few things instead of tossing them out.

      And I already made something with the nut washers. Gotta take pictures.

  3. Hardware stores are some of my favorite places to go…so much stuffus waiting to be made!

    • don_mae says:

      I know!!

      I changed my design AGAIN on my wing nut necklace. I like the way it is now. Think it’s a winner. No more changes. Now I just need to finish it up.

Leave a Reply

