Donuts and Root Beer

Ha!! Bet you thought this post was about food. Or maybe a Halloween beverage?

Nope.

The donuts are acrylic. And root beer is a color.

As in…….

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I bought the acrylic donuts at Auntie’s Beads back in July. I didn’t have any ideas. I liked the colors AND they were on sale. Always a plus.

The seed beads I have had for several years. The reason you see them in so many of my designs is because silly me bought too many.

I used up about a tablespoon making this bracelet. But mainly I used bronze. 8/0 seed beads.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You are looking at 4 days work. On and off. Changing my mind every few hours.

Here’s me starting off. The seed beads in this photo didn’t make the cut.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Switched to bronze and root beer. Looks like two triangles, huh?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Nope. Four.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And finished…. (The Swarovski pearls didn’t make it. Maybe my next design.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

That should be The End, right?

But then I decided to make something I don’t usually make. A pendant. A matching donut pendant.

Worn with the acrylic donut down.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Or up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And the set.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Didn’t make any earrings yet. Might be too much bronze.

What do you think?

Earrings: Yes or No

8 comments on “Donuts and Root Beer

  1. Robbie payne says:

    The pendant is perfect!! Of course the bracelet is wonderful as well but the pendant is simple but elegant!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Robbie.

      I made a 2nd pendant. All bronze. I like them and searched my supplies for more “donut” like beads. Found some!! Yay!!

  2. Tammy says:

    Donna I love this set…yes needs the earrings to complete the set.Looks like animal print and that is in this season.Great work…

  3. Crystal says:

    Gorgeous, Donna!!!!
    And I *definitely* vote for making earrings. I think when you have such a wonderfully unique necklace and bracelet set, that it can be difficult to find earrings that really complement it, if you have to rely on “shopping” for them.

    Not sure I would use a donut in the earring, I can imagine that just the bronze beads (and seeds) would make a beautiful combo to offset the necklace/bracelet.

    Whatever you do will be lovely – I do know that for sure! 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      😀

      Hi Crystal. I haven’t decided yet what design to use for the earrings. I am thinking triangles might be a bit much. Maybe smaller ones or square ones or simple ones. See. I am conflicted. Won’t use those acrylic donuts. All out. I did think about it before making the pendants. Can’t you just see the ear lobes drooping down to your shoulder. LOL!!

      Wait until you see what I am working on now in ivory, gray and ruby red (burgundy).

  4. I would add earrings, but with just the triangles, not the donuts. Love the colors.

    • don_mae says:

      You are right. Would be too much.

      I haven’t made the earrings yet. Still thinking about it. I may do a diamond shape using brick stitch. Thinking, thinking. Always thinking. 😀

Leave a Reply

