4 Days Working on One 2-Toned Design

I knew I wanted something different from the other triangle bracelets I made. And I wanted to experiment with the design.

After making six triangles in brown and beige 8/o seed beads, I got busy working on placement. Arranging. Rearranging.

First was brown on top, all triangles facing left.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Half facing left, half facing right.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Half with brown at top. Half with brown at bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Alternating the top and bottom colors.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Even a necklace got tossed into the mix.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After trying to stitch the triangles in a couple of the designs above, I finally decided on this look. Kind of looks like leaves. I took a ton of photos, but the beige seed beads came out yellowish. I’ll have to retake them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The chocolate Swarovski pearls, pretty though they were, ended up back in my stash. I tried and tried. But could NOT get them connected inside the triangle without a lot of beading thread showing. I tried a bead cap. I tried adding seed beads top and bottom. I tried a beaded fringe. You could still see my stitches above and below the pearl.

So…. no pearls. Maybe with smaller ones, it might have worked.

And you know what? I am so proud of myself. I thought of driving to the craft store to buy smaller pearls, but talked myself out of it. Make Do. Make It Work. Those are two things I have been repeating to myself lately. Use existing stash.

I always take notes as I create and I couldn’t believe it had taken me four days, on and off, to complete this bracelet. But it did. I am pleased with the end result so I guess it was worth it.

4 comments on “4 Days Working on One 2-Toned Design

  1. Robbie payne says:

    The two tone is WONDERFUL! I made some of these to use on my BJP kite as the kite tails using 3 colors…but I really like the two tone for a bracelet! VERY nice.

  2. Crystal says:

    The combination of brown and beige looks so classy! I had an aunt that loved to wear browns with beige, ecru, taupe, camel, tan, etc. She always looked fabulous!

    It’s fun to see all of your variations for the triangles! 🙂

    The last one does look like leaves…. fall leaves maybe? 😉 (You know how I love autumn! lol) I’ll bet a bracelet using several of the brilliant fall colors along with brown would be stunning!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks Crystal,

      The one I am working on now has lime, root beer, gunmetal and a clear crystal color. I am kind of stuck at the moment. Trying to decide on the clasp.

      With next year’s beading budget, I want to work with colors I don’t usually buy. Change up. More wine. And PURPLE. 😀

      And I need to start working more with 11/0 seed beads. I have a TON of them. Maybe I will list them on Etsy as Destash.

Leave a Reply

