Have You Tried The Flat Spiral Stitch Yet?

What are you waiting for!!

It is so addicting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For this one, I gathered up my “green” supplies. Light green, mint green, hunter green and olive. Sparkly, shiny and matte. Even though nothing seemed to match, I made it anyway. I know I said yuck a few times. In my head. But kept going.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Next I tried pearls for the core beads instead of crystals. I used turquoise and aqua seed beads for the side arches. 5 of turquoise and 5 of aqua. I didn’t notice this until I was finished. The bracelet is reversible. Wear it one day on the turquoise seed bead side. Aqua side the next. An unexpected surprise!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This next one, I am using brown, burnt orange, olive and light beige.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like creating my own beaded toggle bar. It becomes part of the bracelet design and creates a seamless look. Just have to make sure it is thin enough to easily go through the toggle circle. String 14 or 16 seed beads and peyote 4 rows works best for me.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I love these Swarovski crystal circles. Pricey, but I still love them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Every once in a while, I dust off my bag of wire. It has the “good stuff” I bought when I took a couple of wire making classes. It also has inexpensive colorful wire. Artistic wire. I would rather work with the cheap stuff and just toss my mistakes. I don’t work with wire enough to get good at it.

So… I guess I will forever make stuff like this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

14 comments on “Have You Tried The Flat Spiral Stitch Yet?

  1. Robbie payne says:

    Great work…not sure which is my favorite color bracelet! I might just have to try this stitich! Thanks for sharing! (as always!)

  2. Grandma V says:

    May I steal your color idea from your Craft Color Challenge? That has got to be my favorite. Such beautiful work you do, again and again. I am anxious to get going on this stitch. I have watched the tutorial videos that you referred to . Several things I have to finish up first – Dang – never enough hours in a day, week, month, year!!!Thanks so much for sharing your creativity.

  3. Debra says:

    Love the turquoise one Donna! The autumn one is my second fave.

  4. Letha Lynea says:

    I just found your site and I have to say I am amazed. You provide great information, tutorials, and are very talented. I am going to have to try making one of these crystal bracelets and a handbag. Again, amazing work…thank you so very much for sharing:-)

  5. Kokopelli says:

    Flat spiral is still on my to-do-list. Thanks for reminding me! 🙂 But atm raw wool, yarn and skeins are my toys. The spinning wheel is still running.

  6. don_mae says:

    Thanks everyone for your kind comments on my work.

    I have a couple more in mind. Brown and light topaz. And blue and light blue pearls.

    I started learning triangles today. Practicing.

  7. Crystal says:

    As a girl whose favorite season is autumn, I have to choose your “color challenge” bracelet as my absolute favorite. 🙂

    Love those glorious colors together!

    (Pretty toggle clasp, too!)

  8. Debra says:

    I keep meaning to ask you- where do you find the rings you use in your toggles? What are they called?

  9. Sacchi says:

    OMG, addicting is right. I loove flat spiral. And it works up fast so you can experiment and make lots of cool bracelets.
    I really like the autumn one and the turqoise one. I love how you can get totally different looks out of one technique just by changing the color.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Sacchi. Yes. Sooo addicting. I keep thinking up ideas. I took apart the turquoise one and made it into 2 rows. I like it much better now. Will post a picture.

Leave a Reply

