From My New Book: Beaded Pillow Beads

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My new craft books, I told you about, arrived several days ago. I flipped through them looking at the projects. Some seem easy enough. Some will be a challenge.

What did I try first?

Little beaded pillow beads from More Seed Bead Stitching, pages 91-92, by Beth Stone.

To tell you the truth… I didn’t GET it until the 4th try. As usual, I thought the author had made a mistake. So I ignored one of the steps. After the third try, I said, what the heck!! Do as it said. OK!! Ended up with these.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used 6/0, 8/0 and 11/0 seed beads per the book.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They make up tiny. About a half inch. I will try them without the 11/0’s to see how much bigger they make up.

I really like the look of my “mistake” so I tried to duplicate it. The 2nd one kind of looks like the first though it feels different. Not as tight. I remember what I did wrong so I’ll make a couple more. I am thinking earrings. Maybe connect two and dangle them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And of course, I went off, way off, on my own. With a little practice, I think I can get these to line up straight. But they need to be larger, much larger.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far, this is one idea I have. Using Swarovski crystals. Not sure if I want a necklace with pillow, crystal, pillow, crystal, and so on. Might be too much green.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What do you think?

11 comments on “From My New Book: Beaded Pillow Beads

  1. Karen Tucker says:

    I personally ike the green..very attractive..or try the darker purple for a more dramatic evening look…I think a necklace would be awesome…I am just learning to work with seed beads..starting with the peyote stitch..a bit of a challenge for me..but am bound and determined I will learn these wonderful beading skills….You do very, very nice work…Will be looking for more pictures and comments from you..smile

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Karen, thanks for the suggestion of using dark purple crystals. I’ll have to try that.

      Regarding your peyote learning, don’t give up. It can be hard especially when it gets tangled up and you don’t know where you are supposed to be. I went through that. Almost gave up but kept at it. I remember working on the first 3 rows for HOURS. Restarting many times. BUT… eventually I got it. And I absolutely love peyote.

      Thanks much for your kind comments on my work.

  2. The first picture of the ‘pillows’ reminded me of clip-on earrings!

    ps: there is NO SUCH THING as too much GREEN! 🙂

  3. Grandma V says:

    Hi – Love your work and ideas. I, too, would like to encourage Karen to keep working on the peyote. It is my very favorite – especially with Delica beads. I don’t create my own patterns yet but I love making bracelets and Christmas ornaments using Peyote stitch. I have made many. Now I have several patterns for making Amulets. I am excited. Keep with it!!!

  4. Vinay Goyal says:

    nice posting…………

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    I love ’em!

  6. don_mae says:

    Thanks everyone!! Wait until you see what I did with them. I changed it to something different. Will still be a necklace though. Still working on it. Need about 10 more beaded pillow beads. They are taking me about 30 minutes per bead.

  7. Judy P says:

    I think they are beautiful, love the colors. I would like to do seed beads more, but my hands cramp so badly that I don’t think I could.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Judy, thanks so much.

      I like working with seed beads. There are lots of designs that don’t require strength. Stringing them is pretty easy. I know what you mean though. My hands get tired some times and ache. I just take frequent breaks.

Leave a Reply

