Memory Wire, Copper and Peyote Tubes

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am on a copper kick. I bought a bunch of antique copper beads from Fire Mountain Gems and Beads a couple years ago. I used a few here and there. But mostly I just enjoyed looking at them. In the bag. Until now…..

I made two bracelets and two pairs of earrings.

One bracelet has a wire bangle with screw on beads on the tips. The other one, I cut two lengths from the memory wire coil and combined them. I wanted a sturdier, single wrap around the wrist. Not multiple spirals like you usually see made up.


This first one has peyote tubes made from pretty matte amethyst seed beads. Lots of antique copper beads. I only had one bead like that lavender glass one. I am sad I didn’t have more. I like it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am thinking about buying some copper spray paint to paint the balls on the tips. The silver stands out like a sore thumb. Have any of you tried painting metal findings with any success?


These earrings go with the amethyst and copper bracelet.

Here’s a picture of the supplies I used. Inexpensive copper colored wire. Copper earwires.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


For this next bracelet, I used painted wood beads. This is the one with the doubled memory wire. I dangled two filigree charms on the wire tips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have a bunch of memory wire. I didn’t even make a dent in my stash. So… my plan is to make up a few more. Until I get bored and move on to something else.

Do you like working with memory wire?

8 comments on “Memory Wire, Copper and Peyote Tubes

  1. Grandma V says:

    I love your creativity. Thank you for the idea of using two memory wires as one. What have you done with all your crochetted squares?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Grandma V, thanks so much for your kind comments on my work. Appreciate it.

      I haven’t done anything with all of those squares. Still in a pile. Right now I am taking a break from crocheting but my plan is to make up something from some of them. Thanks for asking.

      • Judy P says:

        I also make granny squares. When I was expecting my first child, I went thru 3 of those plastic diaper bags, so when I was pregnant with my second one, I decided I wanted something more durable. I took some squares I had started as a sweater in high school and put them together to form a large bag and crocheted a strap of double thickness of single crochet. That diaper bag lasted me thru 5 more kids!! LOL then I used it as a purse for several years.

  2. Judy P says:

    I love memory wire, I made earrings out of a couple of pieces I had left over from a goof-up doing a bracelet and they turned out really cute. I also make simple little ones with the school colors of all the schools around our area.

  3. Crystal says:

    Great idea to use double wire for a single wrap bracelet, Donna!

    As we say in Boston, “You’re so smaaaat!”

    xo

  4. Cilla says:

    I love your ideas and would like to try my hand. I am having trouble finding copper memory wire. Any suggestions? I find every other kind, but no copper!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there, thanks much for your compliments on my work. Appreciate it.

      Regarding copper memory wire, I haven’t seen any. Though I have never looked for it. Did you try Google search? Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

