Still Hot Where You Are?

Autumn is only a few miles away. It will be here before you know it. Until then, think dark colors to cool you off.

Here’s my latest. Using black, bronze, carnelian and topaz. With a hint of summer. Ivory, black and white.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


There’s a bit of everything in this set.

  • gemstones: carnelian (red agate), banded agate
  • wood
  • glass: rondelles, faceted, round
  • seed beads 8/0
  • pony beads
  • leatherlook black beads
  • metal accent beads

Different beading techniques: Stringing, memory wire, beadwork (peyote tubes)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Some beads are probably older than you. Have had the ivory wood beads since my early macrame days back in the 80’s. Leftover from making Christmas wreaths. The round black faceted glass beads are from my “just learning to bead” stage from four years ago. The newest beads are the topaz glass rondelles.

Can you believe, with all the beads I have accumulated, I can still pick up each one and remember where it was purchased. And most times, I can pinpoint the timeframe when bought.

I can tell you where each item in this set came from. Munro Crafts, JoAnn’s, Michaels, Fire Mountain Gems and Beads, Etsy (destash). Probably the same places you shop.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Have you started your fall projects yet?

4 comments on “Still Hot Where You Are?

  1. Kokopelli says:

    Yes, I know all my beads by their name and where I bought them. That is strange, but normal for a beader I think. 😉
    That’s a stunning necklace. Although I’m still in summer with my beading.
    BTW, come over to my blog for a chance to win one of my pc cabs. I’m hosting my second giveaway.

  2. Crystal says:

    Oh yes!
    Seeing these pretty fall colors is encouraging during this heat we are still having.

    Love this set, Donna! 🙂

Leave a Reply

