Learning the Basic Spiral Stitch

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For some reason, I thought this stitch would be hard. It isn’t. At least the one I am learning isn’t. The basic spiral stitch. After the initial beads to get started, it is just add one color A and three color B. That’s it!!

I used up some small lengths of beading thread to practice. They came out good enough to use. Not long enough for a complete one piece necklace or bracelet. I had an idea for loops. Circles. I like loops and circles. So I made a loopy necklace.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Beaded toggle can be worn on the side or in the back. I love making these beaded toggle bars. I made this one really skinny. String 14 beads (flat even count peyote) and sew 4 rows (4 beads at the top and 4 at the bottom). It was tight zippering the sides but it came out great. I usually do 5 rows but think from now on, I’ll just do 4. Seems sturdier.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Seedbeads are 8/0 in bronze and root beer (topaz). Core beads are topaz. They are hard to see in the photos but really pretty.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have enough gold links to make a bracelet. I think I will make it so it can be used to extend the necklace and make it longer. So it can be worn as 2 pieces (necklace and bracelet) or just a long necklace. Thinking… always thinking.

6 comments on “Learning the Basic Spiral Stitch

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    When is your next craft sale?

  2. Carol says:

    You are one amazingly-creative woman! And SO generous with your ideas and instructions. Let’s give this woman a huge hug!
    Carol

    • don_mae says:

      šŸ˜€

      Hi Carol!! THANK YOU!!

      I am working on more necklaces. I just wish I had skills in connecting pieces together. Can’t wait until my class on metal and drilling holes in stuff.

      And thanks much for the hug!!

  3. Debra says:

    Looking at this again and I really need to stop being lazy and make my own matching toggles. It really does make a huge difference in the piece.

    I just bought a package of toggles that I think will work really well with the necklace I want to do next but having seconds thoughts on using them now that I am looking at this again.

    • don_mae says:

      I have just been making the plain easy ones. I have seen some really pretty ones in books I want to try. They look great AND you save on the cost of the clasp.

Leave a Reply

