Learning Netting: My First Cabochon

My first attempt at netting turned out great!! Actually I learned this technique a couple years ago in a class I took using crystal rivolis. But this is really my first time doing it on my own. AND my first cabochon.

Speaking of the cabs…. I have had them forever.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sitting in a plastic container. Ever since I bought them at Fire Mountain Gem and Beads several years ago. I picked out the larger ones and have been thinking of ideas.

I used the instructions at this site to practice.

http://www.rubysbeadwork.com/NettedCab.html

Directions are clear. Complete with photos.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you are new to netting (or bezelling), then check out that site. Easy to follow and you could end up with a usable piece on the first try. Like me!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

6 comments on “Learning Netting: My First Cabochon

  1. Kokopelli says:

    Hey, I know that site and love it. Great instructions! And your cab is beautiful. Looking at your cab collection gives me a lot of ideas.

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    WOW!

  3. don_mae says:

    Thanks!!

    I did 2 more. One around a watchface and one round cab.

  4. Mimi says:

    Thank you for this netted cab instructions! I’ve been searching for days for clues about how to macrame cabochon bezels. This at least gives me a foundation, a beginning. Being from eastern midwest USA, I cannot spare expense for a trip to CA to take a class, so must rely on what can be found on I-Net. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

