Calling All Ice Resin Experts…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have been researching how best to turn my recycled watch parts into paperweights. So far, from what I have read, Ice Resin seems like the best solution.

This is what I am trying to do. Make the beads and items sitting on top of the beads into one solid clear piece. To be used as a desk decoration or as a small work of art, standing on its side or sitting flat.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There are so many do’s and don’t’s. I had to bookmark all the information so I wouldn’t get confused. Most of the sites provided the same details. I even watched two video demonstrations.

One question I don’t have an answer for… yet… is whether or not the resin can be poured into a small wood frame.

One concern I have is about the potential for bubbles ruining my crafty work. One site said if using beads, to put a bit of glue inside EACH BEAD. I am guessing each frame has about 400 seed beads, maybe more. That would take a year. There has to be a better way to do this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I am wondering if I can’t just pour the resin in the frame and ‘place’ the items on top. Is it absolutely necessary to completely cover the items. Won’t they still stick in the solution?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I got some really good tips. Work in a well ventilated area and use a fan if possible. Wear a mask even though Ice Resin isn’t supposed to be fumey. Place a sheet of plastic, like a large white garbage bag, on top of your work space. Ice Resin won’t stick to plastic. Don’t reuse the mixing cup or stirrer. Always start fresh. I am glad I saw that as I probably would have recycled them.

Have you ever used Ice Resin? Were you happy with the results? Any advice for someone new to this? I have to tell you… I failed gluing. I NEVER get the items glued per the instructions. I am hoping I have better luck with resin.

5 comments on “Calling All Ice Resin Experts…

  1. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna! 🙂
    I’ve never worked with resin so I can’t help on that, but I love the piece you are working on here.

    The mixing of the wood with the metal parts is simply striking. I think you may have a new line to appeal to men! This would be fabulous on a guy’s desk at the office!

    Smiles,
    Crystal

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal!! I have lots of ideas for putting these together but don’t want to get too far ahead of myself since the slightest movement and they fall apart. 😀

      I hope these will end up on someone desk. That would be great!!

  2. I’ve done some resin stuff, but didn’t use the Ice Resin brand so I imagine it differs (http://pixelatedmushroom.blogspot.com/2010/01/resin-origami-bangle.html)

    I can give some opinions though – I think wooden frame will be fine, being careful to fill it to the exact level you want will be the challenging part. it burns through some plastics but i think wood is ok

    Bubbles were an issue we never really solved. Even mixing the two parts together caused bubbles in ours (had to mix really gently – but also quickly so it didn’t set) – yours might be easier in this respect, you’ll be able to poke at bubbles with a skewer from above

    I think the order you’ll want to do is to arrange your stuff within the frame and then pour the resin in – it spreads around the air pockets with a little manipulation from a skewer

    My biggest tip: get some cheap tweezers, they were the best tool for arranging embedded objects

    hope this helps a bit from another resin newbie

  3. oh – one more thing – be careful what you use as your container, our plastic cup melted right through the base the first time :s silly us – maybe ice resin is better in this respect – but be careful 😉

Leave a Reply

