New Necklace Is A Beaded Cowl or Collar

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Just finished this necklace last night. I have to tell ya. I wasn’t sure where I was going with this design. But as I kept beading, the vision became clearer. I knew what embellishments were needed and how to finish off the ends to add the clasp.

The idea for this necklace came from the Fan Earrings I made from the book, Mastering Beadwork by Carol Huber Cypher. Using the same technique. Stringing wire and brick stitch.

Before Embellishment
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After Embellishment
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Clasp Added
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s how the necklace looks with the fan earrings.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And with the two bracelets made from the same Bead Soup mix.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have enough of this seed bead mixture left to make a couple more things. I am really liking mixing up seed beads. I never thought to do it until now. Normally I work with solid colors, but I like the variety of the mixed look.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

9 comments on “New Necklace Is A Beaded Cowl or Collar

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    They look great! You do such great beadwork!

  2. Robbie payne says:

    I really like the necklace..looks like it lays so nice on ‘a neck’..thanks for sharing with us!

  3. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much. I am making another one in royal blue. Using up the last of the Bead Soup in that color.

  4. artfullyhis says:

    Wow, that is so pretty! I love the set, so colorful and fun.

  5. Debra says:

    Donna, here’s a question for you. When you were doing brick stitch, how did you manage with adding a new piece of thread? I’m always found the knot when adding new thread catches in the existing threads and either get stuck/pulls itself apart, or it tugs my existing threads out of whack. Its why I stopped using brick stitch a long time ago- could never get it to work for me even though it looks so nice.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra. At the time I made this necklace I was still using Nymo beading thread. I would burn a nice sized “ball” on the tip and weave my way over to the same bead where thread was ending. I would continue on with the new thread and take the old thread in the opposite direction. I have never had a problem with the thread pulling out. And I would give it a good yank before starting with the new thread.

      I am using Fireline now. When adding a new thread, I put about 7-8 tiny knots on the tail, pull it through with a yank, and continue. So far, no issues with Fireline either.

      • Debra says:

        Thanks Donna. I’ll keep that in mind. I have an idea in my head for something similar (well, the base of it anyway) to what you did here, but am still unsure if I want to use peyote or brick stitch.

  6. Martin says:

    To whom it may concern,
    I myself has been doing beadwork for over thirty years. I’m totaly in amzement on the work here done by hand.

Leave a Reply

