Forever 5 Paperweight and Brick Stitch Fan Earrings

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What fun!! Coming up with ideas for all those broken watches I got on eBay.

How about this? Placing the backs in a wooden frame on a bed of black seed beads? Could be a paperweight. Or a miniature standing shadowbox. That is, could be, once I figure out how to get it all to stay put and not fall apart when picked up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


And aren’t these fan earrings cute!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Another project from the book, Mastering Beadwork by Carol Huber Cypher, pages 195-197. What a unique way of working with stringing wire AND beadwork. I like it so much, I am making a necklace using this technique. I really love this book.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These earrings match a couple of the bracelets I made a month ago. Necklace about half done. More photos to follow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To keep from getting bored, I am switching back and forth from stringing to beadwork to beadpunk to steampunk. So, you will have to keep coming back to see what I am working on next.

6 comments on “Forever 5 Paperweight and Brick Stitch Fan Earrings

  1. Robbie Payne says:

    Such interesting ideas! Thanks for sharing!

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    I use E-6000 for everything that needs to be glued. 🙂

  3. Kokopelli says:

    If you don’t mind that the seedbeads and watches can’t be removed, then you could pour resin into the frame. Or you could glue the watch faces and parts to the back of the frame and let the beads move freely in the frame. Does it have a glass pane to cover the things inside?

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks, everyone, for the suggestions. I have lots of these frames and plenty of beads to practice with. I will try the glue to see how it dries. I want the beads to still be shiny and look like beads. I may peyote a beaded square. Decisions, decisions. That’s what makes crafting fun!!

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    I have some of those frames too. I got lots of ideas for them, but they don’t include beads ’cause I’m definitely not the bead queen that you are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

