Forever 5: My New Jewelry Line

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Forever 5. This is what I am calling my jewelry line with the watchfaces. I thought about it. A lot. And I think it perfectly describes what I am making.

This necklace took several days to make. Lots of trial and error and starting over. I selected this watchface to practice my “surround” stitches. Not netting. Don’t know what you would call what I ended up doing.

I started off with a 2-row brick stitch base to go around the side. 8/0 black seed beads.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the bottom, I made a peyote circle. This took hours since I wanted it to align with the beads around the side base. It took me 4 attempts to get it perfect!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I added a silver picot edging, sewing under the “bridges” of the black base.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I added a black picot edging, going in and out of the silver metal frame around the watchface. And created a peyote bail (11/0 seed beads) for hanging.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s the beginnings of the necklace. Using 8/0 seed beads in black, topaz, bronze and clear. Larger topaz glass beads separate the seed bead sections. And 2mm sterling silver beads ease the transition from one to the other.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To finish off the look and bring in the topaz color of the beads in the necklace, I added a 3rd picot edging, sewing into the brick stitch base.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the clasp, I used a toggle bar with topaz Swarovski crystals on the tips. And a sprocket for the toggle ring.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Supplies used for this necklace.

  • 8/0 seed beads
  • 11/0 seed beads
  • glass rondelle beads
  • 2mm sterling silver round beads
  • 5mm silver plated round beads
  • sprocket for toggle ring
  • toggle bar with Swarovski crystals on tips
  • jumprings (welded and open)
  • watchface
  • crimps and crimp covers

This is a This Year’s Dozen original design. Please do not copy or post anywhere without my permission. Thanks.

7 comments on “Forever 5: My New Jewelry Line

  1. Connie says:

    Hi Donna,

    Your watch face/necklace is beautiful–very creative! I know I could manage the necklace part…LOL

    😉 Connie

  2. This is gorgeous Donna! I think I’m in love!

  3. Grandma V. says:

    Very, very nice – so creative. Will you be publishing instructions or selling the piece of jewelry?

  4. Carol says:

    Donna, I love everything about this project — front, back, edges, colors, scale, beads, time and most of all — title. This looks like the start of something big.
    Carol

  5. Kokopelli says:

    Love it! Thanks for sharing all the steps of the making. I love reading how other designers create their bezels and jewelry.

  6. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone.

    I love, love, love working with watchfaces. I just wish I had some skill working with metal and putting the parts together. I am looking for a class I can take. Cold connections, metalsmithing, soldering.

  7. Robbie payne says:

    When I think of all the watch faces I have in my ‘box’…..what a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

