Meet ETERNITY: My 1st Recycled Watch

Eternity. That’s the name on the watchface. Ironic, huh? Eternity, and it no longer works.

Sorry, I didn’t get a Before photo. I had already taken it apart. I pieced this together for you. It had a REALLY well worn lavender watchband.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t this pretty?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Too pretty to just toss in the trash. I had an idea on what I wanted to make. A necklace using the main colors. Blue and pink.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I took the watchface with me to Munro’s last week and picked out one strand of blue glass beads and one of little pink round glass ones with flowers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s one of the reasons it takes me so long to create something. Right in the middle of working on a design, I change directions. You can see in this picture, one side already connected to the watchface. I took this all apart so it could connect with a lobster claw clasp instead. Undo, restart.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Moving on…. Another couple hours trying to get the correct size beads inserted into the giant keychain ball the way I wanted. And then deciding on how many strands of seed beads. For balance.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby went out to Ace Hardware to get me these chains. Wasn’t that sweet of him!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And the final look. It isn’t much Steampunk. More fashionable. I just didn’t see the point of adding gears and other parts. The chains are enough.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So…. what do you think?

11 comments on “Meet ETERNITY: My 1st Recycled Watch

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    I like it!

  2. Debra says:

    Very pretty! I love the asymmetrical aspect of some of your stuff you make.

  3. artfullyhis says:

    Very spunky and fun! Really like the colors and it’s nicely balanced!

  4. Lillian says:

    Very different and striking you are to much. I love it. It looks like you put a lot of time on this wonderful piece. I would wear this with jeans and a real different looking hat or cap. I would have call it my master piece.

  5. Happy says:

    I like it, too. And I very much enjoy your discussions of the details involved in making your creations.

    Just because I like wood and other natural materials, I wonder if you have tried using wood buttons in some of your creations? Or buttons made from shells?

  6. Kokopelli says:

    Very fashionable! And maybe it will manage to live an eternal life as jewelry part, if not as watch.

  7. don_mae says:

    Thanks, everyone. I am plotting out my second watch recycle now. This is so much fun. And I bought a bunch of stuff (gears, parts, keys, tags, etc) on-line. Waiting for it all to come in.

    Happy, yes, I do use some wood buttons in my crafts. A few shell buttons, though not as many as I would like. They tend to crack and break on me. I have about a 1000 plastic ones in all colors to use up. (I think they are plastic. Whatever buttons are usually made from.)

  8. Quilty says:

    Eternity just happens to be timeless, or outside time, or beyond time. So your watch face is quite appropriately named after all.

  9. Crystal says:

    So unique and fun, Donna, just like you! 🙂

    (And now I see what you mean about the dark blue beads!)

  10. don_mae says:

    Quilty, looks like you are right!!

    Yep, Crystal, as soon as I saw yours, I said, hey, I know those beads!! 😀

Leave a Reply

