Went To A Yard Sale Today In My Own House

With Steampunk on my mind, I decided at noon that I would go to a few garage/yard sales to look for usable metal stuff. Started off the intelligent way. Checked the net. Only found one in my area. June 4th. I wanted to go to one TODAY!! (Sounding like a 2 yr old)

Got in my car, drove around for an hour. Pretty yards, pretty flowers. No Yard Sales!!

So, I did the next best thing.

Went from room to room in my own house. Opened all the drawers. I hit the jackpot in the dining room. Now, I have to tell you. The last time anyone was in there was 5 years ago for a family holiday gathering. There’s a beautiful table in there, china cabinet sitting on top of the hutch, 6 chairs, etc. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO IN THERE!!?? Nothing!! So it was no surprise that I found lots of goodies. Hidden treasures.

Lookie!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Aren’t these GREAT!! And just yesterday I saw some skeleton keys like these for $10 each. On-line. Ouch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I found a bunch of other stuff I can use. But none as interesting as these keys. Stay tuned for my Steampunking stuff.

6 comments on “Went To A Yard Sale Today In My Own House

  1. Debra says:

    I love old keys!

  2. Kokopelli says:

    Old keys have something secret and mystical. Love what you found in your own house and can’t wait to see the steampunk jewelry you’ll make.

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    Can’t wait!

  4. Isaac says:

    These keys look so mysterious. Love them.
    About the rest, less interesting, stuff – you can list it on http://PrivateGarageSale.com and who knows, people might need it. You never know when one’s junk turns into another one’s stuff.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Isaac. I checked out that site. I may try it for things too expensive to ship and need a pick up.

  5. don_mae says:

    Thanks, everyone. I ordered some new antique looking keys. Not authentic like the old timey keys but will do for what I need them for.

Leave a Reply

