Weekend Watch Surgery

So far, I have taken apart 15 watches. It is slow going.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am salvaging whatever parts I can.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s what I have discovered….

  • half of them have the exact same insides
  • to pry off the back, locate the tiny little arrow
  • some have absolutely no manufacturer’s name shown
  • 3 actually DO work. (Oops)
  • one of the working ones talks, a watch for the blind.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These are the working ones.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Also, I know zilch about the “face” value of a watch.  I fell in love with this Pierre Nicol watch. Wore it on my arm for several hours. Getting comfortable with it. Thinking MAYBE it could be repaired. But wanted to do some research first on the brand name. Glad I did. I found one on Amazon selling for 1.99. LOL!! Most were under $20.  Now tell me. Doesn’t this look like it should cost more than that?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There are some interesting watches in the bunch.  2 Gucci’s (though Hubby said they are probably knockoff’s), Kenneth Cole New York, Disney Minnie Mouse, 3 glitter Christmas trees and a Santa Claus.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have chosen seven watches I wish had been in my jewelry box. One for each day of the week. Wouldn’t it have been cool to wear these!! I love them!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Click to enlarge.

Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com

And not to leave you gentlemen out (if any are reading this), I have a few manly favorites too.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, back to the operating table.

7 comments on “Weekend Watch Surgery

  1. Lillian says:

    I hope quilty see these watched she would know the value of them.

    I am going to Ohio June 12th My brother-in-law is still in the hospital time to go there on the phone talking all the time but it is time to go i sure hope i get back on the chat board soon tell everyone i said Hello Happy memorial to you and family.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lillian. No Quilty sightings yet. She doesn’t love us anymore. 🙂

      Have a safe trip to Ohio. Sorry you aren’t going during the best of times but at least you will have some face-to-face time with your brother-in-law. Hope to see you back soon at the Cafe.

  2. Paula Lee says:

    Wow, and I thought I had a lot of watches! But hey I do own the one 3rd from the left top row in your pic of those you would like to own. lol Bought it in either Kohls (most likely) or Dress Barn. Still works but needs a battery.

    I recently went to a bead show and picked up some old stuff for either Steampunk or Vintage Redone pieces. Have fun, I can’t wait till I see what you do with them.
    P.S. there’s a cool web site you might want to check out if you don’t already know about it Diane Hydes http://www.beadpunk.net/

    • don_mae says:

      Paula, that was a GREAT site!! Wonder why it didn’t come up when I searched on steampunk. Some of those designs are to die for. I love one. I won’t copy it but it did give me some ideas. Thanks!!

      When you tire of “our” watch, be sure to let me know. 🙂

      • Paula Lee says:

        I’m glad you liked the site. It is very inspiring to see her work. I hope you let us see what you were inspired to make from the design. She also had an article about Beadpunk in either Bead and button or Beadwork recently, where she talks about techniques.

  3. Kokopelli says:

    Are you feeling more like Frankenstein or the Crazy Professor? *lol*
    Some of them look really good. And from your favorite I love the one in the back row, second from right. Maybe you can repair some of them or keep the watch bands and order a new face to make them work. But I’m sure there will be some cool stempunk pieces in this pile of watches.

    • don_mae says:

      Yep, Kokopelli, I am feeling like I need to go out and buy a long white coat. LOL!!

      After I found the 3 that work, I thought, hey, whoa.
      Maybe a few just need batteries. I am going to take a handful to my favorite watch place and inquire.

Leave a Reply

