Steampunk, Anyone?

OMG!! Look what came in the mail today.

89 watches. I got them on eBay. A really good deal, too good to pass up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They don’t work. 😦

BUT… I am going to take them apart and try to salvage whatever I can to make jewelry.

Steampunk jewelry. It’s the latest thing. Have you heard of it?

Just what is Steampunk Jewelry, you ask? Check these out.

http://www.ehow.com/about_5082813_steampunk-jewelry.html

http://www.squidoo.com/steampunkart

http://jewelry-business-blog.com/jewelry-making-tips/steampunk-jewelry-the-resource-list/

10 comments on “Steampunk, Anyone?

  1. Debra says:

    Steampunk has been my favorite for a few years now. I’ve got a really pretty pair of earrings and a necklace in the style that I bought in July of last year. The necklace is actually a locket and the earrings are entirely made up of watch parts, save for the Swarovsky crystals on them as accents. Can’t wait to see what you make with them!

  2. Lillian says:

    WOW I am so proud of you.

  3. Kokopelli says:

    What a find on ebay! Can’t wait what you’ll do with them.

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    Ohhhhh! How cool is that!

  5. don_mae says:

    I have taken about 15 watches apart. I could kick myself for not taking the BEFORE picture.

  6. I’m always searching for Steampunk related stories and found this piece and the picture seemed very familiar!
    Love the comment about taking the BEFORE picture 🙂

  7. Kat says:

    Nice stash…esp. those metal cuffs…would be great for steampunk bracelets! Thanks for including my Squidoo tutorial. Glad you liked it :o)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Kat. One metal cuff ended up just needing a new battery. Hubby told me I should have checked them all before taking them apart. Oops.. too late, LOL!!

      Yes, your site is very informative. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

