Three Firsts

Nature Shot of a “Red Bird”

I don’t usually take photos of birds. Don’t think I have EVER taken one. But I couldn’t resist seeing as a couple of my friends take beautiful close-ups of animals, birds and flowers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby called me to come quickly to look out the bathroom window. A pretty Red Bird was staring back at us. He was enjoying the pink blossoms on a tree in our yard. RED stayed put long enough for me to run for my camera.


Reverse Single Crochet

Learned a new stitch a couple days ago. Reverse Single Crochet (rsc) or crab stitch, as some may call it. I had seen it in patterns before but always skipped right over it for 3 reasons. Didn’t know what it was, didn’t know how to do it and it was always at the end. The last step. Like a border. Figured, what the hay, I was done. But the time had come to just go for it. Learn it. Went to You Tube. Found quite a few on-line demonstrations. Liked this one best.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhSbycwfpdo

Here’s what it looks like. Kind of like a rounded spiral. At the top. Finishes it off nicely.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Felted Purse, The Before Picture

This is how my 1st felted purse looked before the felting process.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see the yarn design better in this next picture. I made the purse a bit larger than the pattern called for.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I drew an outline of it so I could easily measure the shrinkage.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wish me luck. Hope I am pleased with the AFTER picture.

5 comments on “Three Firsts

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    Ahhh! You got a Cardinal! How pretty! He really stands out among those flowers.

    Can’t wait to see your after pics.

  2. Beautiful Cardinal, Donna! Lovely tree too! Big sigh. My peach and cherry tree are starting to blossom out…hopefully the weather allows it to continue to do so.

    Sue (Oregon) gave me a felted pouch/purse in on of our Fall Exchanges…had a big over the shoulder strap. Can’t wait to see yours.

  3. Debra says:

    What a pretty Cardinal! You know I’ve never seen one before- been chased by Jays before though. They’re pretty but very territorial! lol Crazy birds!

    The purse is pretty too Donna. Can’t wait to see the after pictures.

  4. Crystal says:

    Both are lovely!

    I’ll be glad to hear your thoughts after you’ve felted the purse. I have one I knit ages ago that needs to be felted but I just keep putting it off. I’ve read about the process and it seems straightforward enough, so what am I waiting for? Courage perhaps? lol

  5. Grandma V says:

    When we lived on Long Island, I fed the birds during the winter. The 1st winter I attracked a pair of Cardinals. They were beautiful against the snow. The next winter there were 3 cardinal couples that enjoyed the seed. We lived there for 5 years and the last winter I counted 12 cardinal couples. There were lots ofother birds that came to our yard for seed over those 5 years. The cardinals were especially wonderful because this was the first time we had lived in an area were cardinals lived. Our previous homes were Texas and California.

Leave a Reply

