Attention Quilters: Am I Ready?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you can see from the above photo, there is no reason why I can’t start making a quilt top. I want to. I really do. I have the supplies I need to get started.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Plenty of books.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com
Well, you ask, what’s stopping me? I guess, my 10 fingers. And the thought of going through life minus a few of them.

I have a confession. I AM AFRAID OF MY ROTARY CUTTER. Cutters, actually, since I have several. Just looking at them makes me break out in a sweat.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The one still in the packaging, unopened, was THE best, most expensive one I could find. Now I find out from someone who has one, it isn’t. Something about slippage and not cutting through the fabric cleanly. Then what the heck good is it!! I guess the best no longer means anything.

A friend told me about a glove with stainless steel threads. The kind used by fishermen. It may be cumbersome at first but at least I should feel safe. So… once I have one, I’ll get started. πŸ˜€

8 comments on “Attention Quilters: Am I Ready?

  1. Kokopelli says:

    You always have an excuse, right? πŸ˜€
    I’m paper piecing a butterfly design atm. It’s fun. And if you have rulers, your fingers won’t get in the way of the rotary cutter, so just START right away!

  2. Belinda says:

    Donna, you do have to be careful with a rotary cutter, but there are lots of items on the market to help you. I just found out that Fons and Porter makes something called the Klutz Glove, which allows you to really grip that ruler and hold it down while cutting the fabric with your dominant hand.

    Also, some of the quilting rulers now have non skid surfaces on the back. And if you really get into quilt making, there are machines that will cut your shapes, fabric strips, and blocks accurately so you don’t have to deal with the rotary cutter quilt so much.

    You can make your first quilt; I know you can! πŸ˜€ And I know that it will be absolutely beautiful when your finished with it. πŸ™‚

  3. Actually the one that someone said isn’t good, I happen to like a lot. The fact that the blade goes back after you let loose of the handle is wonderful. And if you keep the blade SHARP (ie: change them) they cut wonderfully. I’ve used those others that you have maybe once, if at all.

    You will need a longer ruler…at least 24″ long.

    The Art of Classic Quiltmaking by Hargrave & Craig is a must book for your library. You can actually get rid of a bunch of your books.

    Also nice to have is the 12.5 and 6.5 square.

    The mini iron? I have one too, but find I use my finger more. I like my regular iron or a wooden presser/finger.

  4. don_mae says:

    All great tips!! Thanks, ladies..

    Belinda, I’ll have to check into that Klutz Glove. What a perfect name!!

    Michelle, I’ll order that book. I do not have that one.

  5. […] away from quilt making because she is terrified of using the rotary cutter…see her post HERE. She also has pictures of everything she’s collected to make quilts, wanting to know what […]

  6. Crystal says:

    You have me smiling Donna….

    I’m not a quilter so I can’t advise you on supplies BUT….

    This is just like Yogi Bera’s expression:
    “It’s deja vu all over again!” looking at your photos takes me back…..

    Let me explain….

    About a year ago, our heroine, Donna_mae, was tackling crochet for the first time. It was all new and a little daunting, but what did she do? She jumped in gave it her all. She practiced until her fingers cried “uncle”. Then she dove into a project where she created 100 beautiful crocheted squares and many other fabulous items to the delight and amazement of everyone who saw them…..

    I was there for all of this, from the start…. and now looking at these supplies and books, I have a feeling that in the next year or so, we just may see the same thing happen all over again – with quilting!

    But Donna follows her own creative muse – (as she should!) and so who knows? She may go in another craft direction! One thing is sure – it will be a fun ride for the rest of us either way!

    Love ya, Donna!
    Crystal πŸ™‚

    • don_mae says:

      LOL!! Hey Crystal!!

      You had me smiling too. After seeing β€œDonna_mae”, I thought my mother had found my blog. πŸ˜€

      Though I do want to learn quilting, you are so right. I could go off in a completely different direction. I want to learn to knit. I want to learn to take better photos. FELTING is calling out my name LOUD and CLEAR. I am really interested in it.

      Thanks for being there for whatever I put together!!

  7. Quilty says:

    You’ve almost got more quilting supplies than I have! πŸ˜€

    Time to make use of them, Donna… and stop being scared of your rotary cutter. Just use your common sense. Keep your fingers out of it’s path and you’ll still have 10 of them by the time you no longer have a use for them. πŸ˜‰

    But I think I have many more books than you do…

    Find a beginner’s class and enrol yourself. That will be a good way to get into it… just as you did with your beading and jewellery-making.

Leave a Reply

