Things I Can No Longer Do

  1. untwist the caps on pop/soda bottles
  2. snap the top off a banana
  3. find the exact spot on “pull to open here” wrappings
  4. open a bag of ANYTHING without cleaning up spillage
  5. thread a needle on the first try
  6. feel the raised markers on computer keys F and J
  7. smile at crying babies, now I look at the parents, please stop
  8. enjoy a quiet day out due to loud cell phone abusers
  9. drive slow in the slow lane, fear of road rage in ALL lanes
  10. open any jar without the help of my blue “let the air out” thingy
  11. “I Can See Clearly Now”, the song. Not!!
  12. take a quick shower, my hands don’t move that fast
  13. walk down stairs normally, I take one step at a time
  14. remember last names, heck sometimes even 1st names!!

Getting older stinks!! πŸ˜€

10 comments on “Things I Can No Longer Do

  1. Kokopelli says:

    Thanks for making me smile with this post. And some things on your list are NOT related to age. For example: do you know how tiny the eye of a beading needle is? πŸ˜‰

  2. Alicia Jordan says:

    I donΒ΄t know exactly how older are you, but you still can crochet lovely chickens! And you do really lovely things! Yeay!
    So, I say: to hell with the age!
    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

  3. Robin says:

    have you been following me around?

  4. Debra says:

    Ditto on the eye of a beading needle! It takes me like three or four tries every time!

    Names… I can never remember people’s names.

    I do have to agree with Alicia up there- you make some great things Donna!

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    I love this and it is so true!

    For you beaders, you need a big eye beading needle.

    http://www.amazon.com/Big-Eye-Needles-Beading-Set/dp/B002KHM8AQ

    That’s all I use when I do a little beading. They are great!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Sharon, I have some of those needles. I usually run and get them when I need to “pull” something through a tight space. Thanks!!

  6. don_mae says:

    πŸ˜€

    Your comments made ME smile!! I am 65 and sure hope I won’t be adding to this list anytime soon!! Enough already.

  7. Anne says:

    Like everyone else, I wanna say, who cares?! Your work is so beautiful!!

    I’m not even half your age and sometimes I have trouble opening jars and threading needles. I’ve always been nearsighted so I could never see clearly anyway. At least you have an excuse. πŸ˜‰

  8. lulu says:

    Hopefully there are also things you CAN do now that you couldn’t before. (My list would include knitting in the round, and not freaking out when my kid falls on the playground.)

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lulu, interesting comment. You know, yes, there are. Many. I no longer stress out over something that didn’t go as planned. Move on to Plan B. Things broken, spilled, ruined, etc. I just don’t “go there” anymore. I guess I mellowed out with age. I am trying my best to get my hubby to the same PLACE but it is very challenging. He will get there eventually, I hope. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

