Making Hot Pads To Go With My Chickens

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Or they could be table mats, place mats, pot holders, dish cloths…

The chickens can stand alone but I thought they would look nicer sitting on top of something. So, I created these mats. They are double-sided, nice and thick. I played around with the design, had a few flops, but finally got it to match up with the design in my head.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The hot pad is my own design. (Chicken potholder pattern is in Gooseberry Patch, Fun-to-Crochet Gifts book.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am calling them Granny Hexie Hot Pads/Table Mats. I used Patons Classic Wool. Ecru and Rich Red.


Update 2-2-13: Pattern is available for purchase here. Thanks much!!

https://www.etsy.com/listing/96058755/pattern-hexie-granny-crocheted-hot-pad

11 comments on “Making Hot Pads To Go With My Chickens

  1. Candys S McCulley says:

    Hi – I love these. If you ever make a set to sell; please let me know. :}

    Thank you,
    Candys

  2. Crystal says:

    Wonderful idea, Donna!

    The little chicken looks happy as a clam (is that just a New England expression?) on her nest.

    The mats looks lovely and thick. They’d be so pretty on the table, as mats for casserole dishes.

    As always, you are so creative! πŸ™‚

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, again… I wish they looked cute as a single mat because making 2 to single crochet together takes longer. But I like making them. πŸ˜€

  3. Becky says:

    If I may I’d like your pattern for your Hotpad that is in the Red/Pink color .. I am looking forward to more of your sends.. Thank you so much !!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Becky, that is one of the things I am working on. I will e-mail you when pattern is ready. Thanks!!

      • Becky says:

        May I have the patterns for both the chicken and the hot pad .. I’d love to make my girls one ,, they ‘d love it .. Thank you !! Becky

  4. Lea says:

    Hi! I’m wondering if you have the hotpad pattern yet? I’d really love to try it, it’s the best looking one I’ve found so far.

    Thanks!

  5. Susan says:

    Hi do you have the pattern done for the hexie hot pad yet?

Leave a Reply

