Crochet Ripple Clutch: “Making It Work”

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

When my ripple “pillow” didn’t turn out the way I had planned, I moved on to Plan B. A clutch bag. That was about the only thing I could see turning it into.

The length of the fabric shrunk with each additional row until around row 13 when it stabilized. I was happy when that happened. I was thinking I would end up with THE smallest of whatever it was I was making. Now I know. Add lots more chain stitches when beginning.

Here I am, taking a break, looking at the shrinkage.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now working it as a clutch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Adding the sides. The gusset. My 1st gussets. This was fun.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like making ripples. Have you ever tried them? I plan to make a couple more handbags AND will retry my pillow.

8 comments on “Crochet Ripple Clutch: “Making It Work”

  1. kokopelli79 says:

    Like what you did with the former pillow. Good to know that it shrinks.

  2. Susann says:

    I find your clutch most beautiful!
    It look’s just like I like them, I have to make one for myself, too :))

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    Yep, you have to watch the ends very carefully when doing ripples. It’s too easy to miss a stitch when turning and your ripple begins to shrink, becomming a triangular ripple. Been there. 😀

  4. Crystal says:

    Really cute, Donna! 🙂

    I’d like to try it in cotton yarns for a summer bag!

  5. veena says:

    Its beautiful:-) i loved your clutch want to make one too……

  6. Dora says:

    another great product i love it , i really enjoy watching your work
    HUGS Dora

  7. Debra says:

    This is too cute! I love it! Maybe I need to learn to crochet… lol.

    • don_mae says:

      OMG!! Boerbabe!! How the heck are you? I saw you on Facebook. I am so new to it, haven’t a clue what to do. Yes, you should try crochet. I just learned. Little over a year ago. And I LOVE it. So glad to hear from you. I miss you. I sometimes stop by your blog to see how you are doing.

Leave a Reply

