Chicken Potholder. Taking My New Skills For A Test Drive.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, I did it!!

I went back to one of the items I wanted to make last year but was clueless. It all made sense this time. I didn’t breeze through it. I took my time. And I understood all of the instructions. Imagine that!! 😀

Here’s a picture from the book, Fun-to-Crochet Gifts, from Gooseberry Patch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I took photos as I made it. There are lots of pieces to sew together. Doing a whipstitch. Good practice for me for when I get to afghan making.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Adding the bottom part to the top.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t take any pictures of me making the little parts. The head, comb, wattle and beak. I figured I had taken enough already.

And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

11 comments on “Chicken Potholder. Taking My New Skills For A Test Drive.

  1. I WANT IT!

    Go put it onto etsy so I can buy it, Donna!

    And go make another with white and rust…a spotted chicken! 🙂

  2. kokopelli79 says:

    How CUTE! I want one, too! Did you stuff it with something or did you just use thick wool?

  3. don_mae says:

    Thanks!! 😀

    Did I tell ya how much I LOVE to crochet!!!! Maybe I’ll make up a few and put them on Etsy. I just wanted to see how successful I would be in making the 1st one.

    I used Patons Classic Wool for the ivory and red parts. It probably looks thicker since I hid the yarn ends in the swirls of the granny squares. It feels thick though and should be fine for handling a hot pot top. I used a bit of stuffing under the head.

  4. Carol Keene says:

    Donna,
    I want to tell you one more time how proud I am of your determination to PLOW (yes, it’s a Michigan winter kind of pun) through all 101 squares after your ROCKY start (um, that could be Michigan, as well). My how you’ve grown since I first signed on. Who Woulda’ Thunk it? (that’s a quirky little song by Greg Brown). Many hugs and much love to you.
    Carol

  5. Belinda says:

    I love it! That potholder is adorable, Donna! Great job! Now, when are you going to start quilting? 😉

  6. Oh! Someone else besides me prodding her about that “dirty” word…quilting! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

  7. don_mae says:

    Hi Carol. Good to see you. Yep, you were the first to give me encouragement to continue and not give up. I sure do remember those rough beginnings. Thanks so much for being there for me.

    Belinda and Michelle. Soon. 😛

  8. Crystal says:

    Awwww Donna,
    It’s absolutely cuter than cute! 😀

    I LOVE it!

    I think my Mom had one that was something like this but it was done with thread.

    Sounds as if you could have lots of customers if you wanted to!

    Hugs,
    Crystal

  9. Love you bunches, Donna! She’s sitting in my fabric hutch…watching me quilt, and staying high enough from the reach of Lucy. 🙂

  10. We are so tickled to see this cute li’l chicken on your blog…thanks so much for sharing our craft here!

    For even more Gooseberry goodies, visit our blog at…

    http://www.gooseberrypatch.typepad.com

    See you there!

Leave a Reply

