99

Need I say more!! If you have been following me on my Project 101 journey, then you know EXACTLY what that means.

Here they are. The next five.


Square 49 – Watermelon

  • red, green, white & black
  • hook G
  • measures 6 1/2″

Fast to make. I like it. I didn’t follow the directions in the book for creating the “seeds.”  I just looped around 4 times for each seed. In and out. Easy-peasy!!

I will make more. In fact, I think I will make a table cloth for our family reunion’s picnic this coming July.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 68 –  Berry

  • cream, orange & brown
  • hook G
  • measures 7 1/2″
  • cluster and berry stitches

Love this square, with or without the edging. I am so sorry I am just now getting around to making it. The berry stitch would have been perfect when I was searching for edgings for other projects. I really like it and will for sure make it again.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 73 – Huge Flower

  • dusty blue, lime & cream
  • hook G
  • measures 7 1/2″

Whew!! Didn’t think I would EVER finish this square. It was very tiring. I took frequent breaks. Make 2 petals, take a 3 hr nap.  Look at all those yarn ends. Weaving in all of those took over an hour. To do it right. I am proud of how it turned out. Front AND back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 75 – Perfect!!

  • pink & green
  • hook G
  • measures 4 1/2″
  • long triple crochet stitch

Isn’t this THE most perfect square!!  I know I have told you of other squares I love but I really do LOVE this one. You will be seeing more of it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 97 – Cross

  • dusty blue, lime & cream
  • hook G
  • measures 7 3/4″
  • double triple crochet stitch

I guess this one could have been included in the Holiday post. A cross. Easter, maybe?  But I hadn’t started it then.

I am so glad I didn’t wait and make this the last square. I would have been on a downer instead of an upper. I have to put this one up there in the TOP FIVE HARDEST SQUARES.  Maybe even higher.  I had to read, reread & reread the directions in order to visualize what to do. Thank goodness for the color photo. It helped me a lot.

No question. I WON’T BE MAKING this one again!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Well, that’s it for now.  I am hoping to finish the last 2 sometime today. But if not, for sure by tomorrow. I want to start on making up stuff with these squares and utilizing all the techniques I have learned.

2 to go!!


Patterns for these squares can be found in the book, 101 Crochet Squares, by Jean Leinhauser.

4 comments on “99

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    I can see where that cross would seem complicated and the flower too just because of all the loose ends. But you are doing great!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks!! I took a break most of today. Don’t think I will get the other 2 finished today. Getting kind of sad thinking about the end.

  2. jenn says:

    i like that watermelon one! it would make a really great tablecloth or blanket for a summer picnic.

  3. Celia says:

    I totally agree with you on the #97 square – I don’t care for it at all. You did a fantastic job of working all the ends in on square ##73. The back is perfect. I really like that square but I also hate to finish off lots of ends in one square. I made a Granny Square crochetted afghan long ago and vowed to never do it again but I want to make up the squares like you have also to test my abilities and to learn new tchniques. So there will be many ends to finish off!!!!! Good work!

Leave a Reply

