Squares 66 (and 64)… Seeing Double?

Didn’t I do this square already? Looks like a picture frame. Yep, I did. It was Square 64. Even with the slight differences (center and edging), it is odd that two squares would be so similar.

BUT… good practice for learning the Back Post Double Crochet (BPdc) stitches. Those stitches give me pause. I have to stop midair to remember which way to insert the hook. And usually get the first one wrong and start over. Once I get my rhythm going, they are easy to make.


Here’s the new square.

Square 66 – Ditto

  • turquoise & aqua
  • hook G
  • measures 5 3/4″
  • back post double crochet (BPdc)
  • added one round of single crochet around edges

They both look like picture frames to me. Just in different colors.  This one was easier to make since I knew what to do. Getting used to making BPdc’s.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As a reminder, in case, you can’t remember… here’s what Square 64 looked like.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And with the extra round of single crochet stitches I added to the edge of Square 66, they are now TWINS!! 😀


Patterns can be found in the book, 101 Crochet Squares, by Jean Leinhauser. (11 squares to go!!)

4 comments on “Squares 66 (and 64)… Seeing Double?

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    You have learned so much just doing those squares. I remember when you had just started crocheting.

    • don_mae says:

      Yep!! AND I just learned how to make a bobble. At first, it looked wrong so I tried it several ways. Turned out I was doing it right, just thinking it “looked” wrong. Thanks!!

  2. Crystal says:

    Gee, interesting that 2 are so alike. I guess the book *could* have been called “100 Crochet Squares” 😉

    Love that aqua with deep teal combo!

Leave a Reply

