6 Jeweltone Squares: Puffs & Popcorns

Working my way through the puffs and the popcorns.

Well, actually, me and the popcorns are still getting acquainted. They are growing on me. I am liking them much better. Though I wish they would stay in place and not try to turn as I am making them.

I purposely went through the book (101 Crochet Squares by Jean Leinhauser) and picked out the squares with puffs and popcorn stitches. Wanted to get as many of them out of the way as possible.

Here are six of them. I am calling them the Jeweltone Squares because of the bright colors.


Square 27

  • honey
  • hook G
  • measures 6 3/4″
  • popcorn stitch

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 41

  • magenta (fuchsia)
  • hook G
  • measures 6 3/4″
  • puff stitch

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 43

  • rouge (looks red but color is a burnt peach)
  • hook G
  • measures 8 3/4″ by 9 1/4″ (made up huge)
  • popcorn stitch

This one took FOREVER!! And it was weird working from the front with the actual design developing on the backside. Made changes to Round 6, added extra dc’s for a fuller look. Nice design the popcorns make.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 55

  • dusty green
  • hook G
  • measures 8 1/4″
  • picot stitches in the inside corners
  • worked in the round

Another challenge. Another square not starting off with a ring. It took awhile for the design to come together. I was skeptical the whole time and went slowly. But I think it came out beautifully!! Probably won’t make it again though. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 56

  • purple
  • hook G
  • measures 8 3/4″ by 8 1/2″
  • popcorn and cluster stitches

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 80

  • navy
  • hook G
  • measures 6 3/4″
  • popcorn stitch

Did not like making this one at all!! It flopped around in my hands, had no control. And seemed like I was on the wrong side the whole time. Came out pretty but won’t make again. The 4 popcorns are hard to see. In the middle around the circle.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Well, that’s it for now. 66 squares done. BTW, my book is starting to fall apart. I have tape on just about every page. Hmmm. May be buying this book again after I finish.

2 comments on “6 Jeweltone Squares: Puffs & Popcorns

  1. DeeDee says:

    Donna,

    They are all so beautiful, but my favorites from this batch are #27, #43, and #55. The colors are great!

    DeeDee

Leave a Reply

