Zig Zag, BABY & Giant Flowers: New Crochet Squares

I am happy to report, I have completed 43 squares from my Project 101. 58 to go!!

Here’s the latest. No color explosion this time. I am all over the color map. Trying to mix things up and use some of my yarn just sitting.


Square 89 – Zig Zag

This looked interesting so thought I would try it. Yuck!! The square is all single crochet. Took forever. And placing the zig zags to zig zag just so also took forever. Even with a guide from the book, I still ended up redoing the zags about as often as the zigs. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Will I make this square again? NOOOOOOOOOOOOO.


Square 19 – BABY

Have you tried the new BABY yarn line from Lion Brand, Vanna’s Choice? Very pretty colors. This pink is called Pink Poodle.

Cute, petite. I would make it again.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

In fact, I DID make it again. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 69

Looking for a quick and easy square to make? This is it. Kinda plain. Kinda dull. But it’s in the book. So had to make it. I added an extra single crochet row around the edges.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 17 – Love it!!

Love this flower!! It came out perfect. Will definitely make this square and flower again. There are 3 layers of petals. And pattern uses Back Post Single Crochet stitches. They are easy. Just have to determine which stitch they go around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 32 – Another Uh, Oh Moment

Switched to earthtone colors for this one. Used cream, toffee and espresso dark brown. Espresso almost looks black.

Starts off with this flower.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round 8. Uh, Oh!! Not again!! I am making a square. Not a CIRCLE!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Still smarting from the flying saucer, I was hesitant to go past Round 8. BUT.. I rechecked all the steps and was pretty certain I hadn’t missed, messed up or skipped anything. Kept going.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Whew!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I added an extra round of double crochet stitches before the final single crochet row.


Squares are being made from patterns in the book, 101 Crochet Squares by Jean Leinhauser.

Yarn used for the above squares:

  • Lion Brand, Vanna’s Choice
  • Loops & Threads, Impeccable
  • Red Heart Soft Yarn

Hook G for all.

6 comments on “Zig Zag, BABY & Giant Flowers: New Crochet Squares

  1. David M. says:

    Wow! So many squares, and they’re all beautiful! I especially love Squares 89 and 17.

  2. That is going to be one crazy afghan when you put them altogether!

  3. Celia says:

    I received my pattern book today for the 101 squares. I have a couple of other projects to finish first and then I’m anxious to begin making my first square. I like your newest squares. Your color selection is sooooo much better than the ones in the pattern book. I especially like #17. I, too, am 67 – isn’t it fun discovering new things at our age!!!!

  4. Crystal says:

    I have to vote for #17 as well. Really pretty! I love the flower – it’s so dimensional. I also like the lace-y effect of the square. 🙂

  5. Celia says:

    Donna, so sorry for adding two years to your life – sometimes that’s what happens as you get “older” – you don’t remember what you read!!! I had a “senior moment” when I commented up above.

    • don_mae says:

      LOL!! Thanks for giving me the 2 extra years. I hope I made good use of it and made more beautiful stuff. 😀

      So glad to hear your book arrived. Can’t wait until you get started on the squares. I hope you will comment here as you work through the book or send me e-mails. I have learned soooo much.

Leave a Reply

