Project 101: Picking Up Where I Left Off

Can you believe it’s been 6 months? Time flies when having fun.

OK, time to get back to working on this project. Called Project 101 since there are 101 crochet squares in my book. The name of the book is 101 Crochet Squares by Jean Leinhauser.

Here’s Square 1. A giant pansy in the center of the square.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t think I would like the pansy. It looked odd. But I just wanted to get a square done and crossed off my list. I love it!! It came out so pretty.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Of course, I did a bit of changing. Altered the pattern. The center (gold color) was so deep you couldn’t see it. So I made a separate circle of single crochet, sewed it on top and added a picot stitch around it. I used light blue yarn for the flower, trimmed in navy. The square is white, trimmed in navy. Square measures 8 3/4″ by 8 3/4″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:

  • White-Lion Brand, Vanna’s Choice, acrylic
  • Light blue-Red Heart, acrylic
  • Navy-Red Heart, acrylic
  • Mustard-Lion Brand, Vanna’s Choice, acrylic

Hook H

Now I have to decide which square to make next.

5 comments on “Project 101: Picking Up Where I Left Off

  1. Crystal says:

    Pansies are one of my favorite flowers! Love your version! 🙂

  2. Wadda says:

    Where can the pattern be found for the Giant Pansy. A little confusing.

    Wadda

  3. DeeDee says:

    I love your pansy square. It’s beautiful. Thanks for sharing. You are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

