Fabric Bowl #3, More Fall Leaves

Monday, July 27

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I really LOVE the fabric in the middle. I hope I can find more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It has a wine background with tan, cream and reddish orange leaves. I want to make a flat mat and some coasters with this same pattern as the bowl but I am all out of it.

This is my 3rd fabric bowl and they are getting easier to make. I shaved off an hour making this one. I tried to follow the same design as the 2nd one.

But I did make this one a bit taller AND notice the handles. Completely different from the others. I made the handle from four rounds of coils and then I hand sewed them to the sides. The buttons cover the beginning and ending of the coil.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I REALLY like how this came out. It has a cleaner look. I cut the strips on the bias for this one and #2. I am still using macrame cord instead of clothes line. 8mm cord. I have enough left of this roll for 2 more baskets.

It takes LOTS of thread. I start off with two full bobbins wound from one spool and a 2nd spool in the machine. I end up running out of bobbin thread right about near the end. If you make one of these bowls, make sure you have plenty of thread.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is sooooo much prettier than these pictures show.

Measures 11 1/2″ diameter and 5″ height.


Go here for instructions to make your own fabric bowl.

http://www.craftstylish.com/item/33825/how-to-sew-a-fabric-bowl

9 comments on “Fabric Bowl #3, More Fall Leaves

  1. peppernys says:

    ooo I like this bowl the best so far! love the middle section with the leaves.

    Also, wanted to say thanks for all your macrame tutorials, i finally got to have a go and make a handle for a cake container using some of the knots you taught.
    http://pixelatedmushroom.blogspot.com/2009/07/macrame-cake-container-handle.html

    It’s not very pretty but it was great fun to try out the different knots ^.^

    • don_mae says:

      That looks GREAT!! I see square knots and half knot twist sennets. You are a good student. I bet your Grandmother appreciates this.

      I had a cake container and handle like that. Tupperware. Had it for 30 years. Sold it on eBay about 5 years ago. It was like new, used only a few times.

      Thanks for sharing your pictures. And thanks for the nice compliments on my work.

  2. I’m not sure you’ll find any more of that fabric…I bought that over 10 years ago while making the autumn quilt that is on my bed. You can see some of it in today’s post with the market bag. 🙂

  3. I’ll go through my stash when I get home from work. I’m pretty sure I have more of it. I’ll send it to you if I do.

  4. crystal says:

    Wow!!!!

    A flat mat with coasters that match this bowl????

    Talk about GORGEOUS!

    Your Fall table is gonna be beautiful. 😀

    • don_mae says:

      For sure!! My friend, Michelle, may have more of the leaf fabric. She is going to send it to me if she does. Got my fingers crossed. 😀

  5. Guessie what I found!

Leave a Reply

