1st Fabric Bowl Completed

Thursday, July 16

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Done!! Not all giddy and chest thumping but OK, I’ll raise my hand and claim it’s mine. After all, it is my first one. It could stand a bit (HUGE bit) of improvement. I am already thinking of what NOT TO DO for the second one.

Don’t compare mine with the one at Craft Stylish. Night and Day. Mine being Night. It is larger, taller, the handles can barely be seen, one side is lopsided. But I like my Night. It is colorful and the colors are well blended. I think.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used my new pinking shears. Big mistake!! What a mess. What was I thinking?? Unraveling edges everywhere. When I ran out of cut fabric strips, I abandoned the shears. Put them back on the shelf. I am not sold on cutting strips selvage to selvage. I think cutting on the bias might give them a cleaner look.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t time myself but once I got going, I kept at it for several hours. I am wondering if sewing would go faster if I sew the strips together before wrapping. If you make one, using the metal clips to hold fabric in place around the clothes line was a great tip. (I used thick macrame cord instead of clothes line.)

OK. Here it is. Ready for your critique. Be kind!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Go here for instructions to make your own bowl.

http://www.craftstylish.com/item/33825/how-to-sew-a-fabric-bowl

2 comments on “1st Fabric Bowl Completed

  1. crystal says:

    I love the blend of colors on this and it came out lovely!

    The project looks very ambitious – definitely worth it – but it must have been a lot of work!

    I really admire the fact that you are already thinking of how to do the SECOND one!

    You’re an inspiration, Girl!!! 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal!! Yep, those fabric bowls do take a long time to make. Wrap, sew, wrap, sew. I finished the 2nd one and REALLY like it. Pictures coming up.

Leave a Reply

