July is Sewing Month

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yep, it is.

July will be the month to finish up stuff made months ago.  Linings for purses. Zippers for purses. Lace and ribbon for purses. Seems I make a lot of purses that need extra stuff.  Or so it seems they need it. They might even sell faster with embellishments.

So.. that will be the direction my “Sewing Month” will take. Finishing off. There are other sewing projects I have in mind but nothing too way out there. Nothing that will take days and days to make. I’m an instant gratification kind of gal. I want to see progress in hours not days.

Plus I want to use up more of my supplies and materials on hand. I have miles of pretty fabric just sitting, waiting its turn, watching macrame cord and yarn get all the attention lately. Time to move cotton and blends from their cubby holes. Time for some fabric therapy. Time to dust off my poor neglected Janome.

But first… off to find the Janome instruction manual.  😀

This entry was posted in Sewing.

8 comments on “July is Sewing Month

  1. Belinda says:

    Are you really going to sew this month, or are you going to crochet through this month, too? 😉 :p

    I am so glad to see that you are going to give your poor neglected Janome some much needed company. 😀

    Aprons are fairly easy to sew, you know….. ;)You can get slightly more instant gratification from small projects like that. Of course, you could always start another quilting month and make a small quilted pillow. That’s not quite as large a project as a whole quilt.

    I, for one, am thrilled that July is sewing month! 😉 😀

    • don_mae says:

      LOL!! Think ya know me, huh!! I won’t lie. I will macrame and crochet but I will be doing some sewing. I have something I saw on-line I want to try. I have the supplies so won’t have to buy anything.

      Don’t think I will be quilting anything though. Still have that phobia of cutting off my fingers cutting all those little pieces.

      Baby steps. Baby Step 1: Relearning how to thread my machine and winding a bobbin. 😀

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    When you are ready to do some quilting, try paper piecing. You can find “how to’s” on the net. No cutting small pieces…just some trimming after each piece is added…with scissors.

  3. Belinda says:

    Yep, I know you well! 😀

    If you want to try to learn to quilt in the near future ;), then you could always try paper pieceing as suggested, or you could buy a template, trace around it, and cut out the piece(s) with scissors. I would start with five and half inch squares and sew simple blocks together to start. I have a friend who cuts out her quilt pieces with scissors and she makes some very nice quilts. The cutting process takes a bit longer, but back in my grandmother’s day, everybody cut out quilt pieces with scissors. 🙂

    After you get used to sewing the large squares together (a 4 patch or 9 patch block is very easy to make, but you might want to use four and a half inch squares for those), then you can branch out to different shapes and smaller pieces. Just sew the 5-1/2 inch squares together in a row and build a small pillow or quilt. Then you can sandwich the top, batting, and backing together and decide how you want to quilt it. I like quilting pillows because they don’t take as long.

    Now, get that Janome fired up and give it some company! 😉 😀

  4. don_mae says:

    Paper piecing sounds like a good idea but the thought of sewing on top of paper, no matter how thin, just doesn’t interest me. But thanks for the tips though. 😀

  5. crystal says:

    Hi Donna 🙂

    I hear ya with the projects that need finishing. I have a bunch waiting for final touches, too.

    Can’t wait to see whatever items you find the time to finish!

Leave a Reply

