Crochet Square 58 (Clusters)

Monday, May 18

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Petite, cute, quick to make. A bunch of these squares in all different colors would look great as a LONG scarf.

My learning curve just nudged up a bit. I learned how to make a CL. A cluster stitch. It was super easy. Here’s one being made. On my hook.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure why it took me so long to make something using it. I tend to look through my crochet books and select first the stuff with stitches I am familiar with. Never going to grow that way. Which is why I made this.

I like making clusters. I also like the feel of it. You can press your thumb into the depressed area of the petals. There are many more patterns with clusters in my 101 book. Maybe now I can work through them faster. Less study time. More crochet time.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But for now… am taking a few days break… so I can macrame something. Will get started today. Or tomorrow. Promise. 😀

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Hot Green (Lime).

Measures 4″


How many squares have I done?  Here’s my tracker.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/project-101/


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

3 comments on “Crochet Square 58 (Clusters)

  1. Karen says:

    I love this square!! I haven’t crocheted since I was a teenager, but this has inspired me to go and buy some crochet hooks and give it a try. Can you please tell me what stitches/pattern I need to do this square and I’ll have a go.
    Thanks,
    Karen
    Brisbane, Australia

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Karen, this square and 100 others can be found in 101 Crochet Squares by Jean Leinhouser. 1996 by American School of Needlework, ASN Publishing.
      ISBN: 978-0-88195-715-0

      Stitches used: chain, slip stitch, double crochet, single crochet, working in chain “spaces” and the cluster.

      I like this square too. Quick to make.

      • Karen says:

        Thanks-will start learning how to do some of those stitches while I wait for the book to come from America-ordered it through Amazon last night. Very hard to find in Australia!!!

Leave a Reply

