Crochet Square 8 (Winging It)

Monday, May 11

Spent the weekend working on my Project 101 crochet squares, watching You Tube videos, studying patterns and deciding which macrame projects to do.

Trying to move away from my comfort zone and learn something new, I selected Square 8. It has FPDC stitches. Front Post Double Crochet. My first ones. Watched a You Tube video demonstration before starting.

Rounds 1-6. Going smooth, following along with the instructions.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round 7. Here come the FPDC’s. Slowed a bit to get them just right. If you know how to do a FPDC then you know you are working from the current row going DOWN to the PREVIOUS ROW. They are the puffy stitches in cream. You wrap around “that” stitch 5 times. Pretty, huh? This little section would make a cool coaster.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round 8. This round kicked my butt and left me scratching my head. Directions said to “3 dc in each of next 2 sc on Rnd 6.” What!! Huh??? Now how the heck can I see Round 6 stitches all covered up with Round 7 and 8’s. I could not find where I was supposed to be. So…… I winged it. I made up my own pattern to finish up this round and the last round which was just a border trim going around the square with single crochet stitches.

I can’t tell if the instructions were screwy or if I needed some help interpreting them. Here is where I got lost, where my hook is.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished this row with double crochet stitches.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s my finished square. It measures 5 3/4″. Larger than the one in the book which is 4 1/2″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Sage Green and Cream


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

One comment on “Crochet Square 8 (Winging It)

  1. JoAnn says:

    I love this square pattern and would love to have the complete instructions. Are they available somewhere?

Leave a Reply

