Crochet Square 10 (Never Give Up!!)

Friday, May 8

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, this Square almost didn’t get made. It seemed easy enough in the photo in the pattern book but everyone knows looks can be deceiving.

I first tried several days ago. And then again a day or two later. I still could not figure out what the instructions were telling me to do.

Finally got it on the 3rd try. So, I guess it is true when people say the 3rd time is a charm. See the first two messes in this next photo? My 1st and 2nd attempts. Making no sense whatsoever. No wonder I couldn’t get going.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I do like this stitch, even after all the problems I had learning it. It is one of those projects you can work on while waiting in the doctor’s office. Once you get the row started, you just keep going. Even changing colors was easy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No pulling and tugging, not hard on the hands. My kind of stitch. But do be warned, if you make this, some shells appear to be on the wrong side. It may look wrong but that is how the pattern works up. Worked in a triangle, like a fan. In fact, the first few rows would make a cute fan. Maybe dangling from a key chain. This square is perfect for using up your odd lengths of left-over yarn.

I still have a bit of work to do. I want to clean up the edges by adding a couple rows of single crochet stitches. I may add this cute flower to the top or center. What do you think?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Lesson learned. Never give up.

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Cream and Hot Green (Lime).
Lion Brand 100% cotton in Orchid (Fuchsia).

Measurements: 6″


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

3 comments on “Crochet Square 10 (Never Give Up!!)

  1. peppernys says:

    thanks! have been enjoying reading these adventures each day

  2. Mara Silveira says:

    VERY BEAUTIFUL YOUR SITE

    I LOVE SQUARE

  3. I need help to make a square by 10 can u help please and thanks u can u give me a website to on YouTube the name

Leave a Reply

