Rudy the Rectangle

Did I finish my other mitten? No.

Did I finish my red ridges scarf? Nope.

But… I AM working on Rudy the Rectangle. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am stopped for the moment. Had to search for instructions on making an embroidered French Knot for the eyes. Never made one before. It is so easy. Watched the YouTube video just once, that’s how simple it is.

Now I need to assemble Rudy, add the rust trim around the edges, stuff him and sew on the arms and legs. (Have one arm to finish.) Hubby asked why one eye was smaller than the other. I didn’t even respond. Just pointed to the picture.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I picked up the free pamphlet the last time I was in Michaels. It states on the back, “Every effort has been made to produce accurate and complete instructions. We cannot be responsible for variance of individual knitters or crocheters, human error or typographical mistakes.” Well, some heads need to roll for telling me it only takes 2 hours to make Rudy. More like 2 days!! That is how long I have been working on him.

Here’s the free pattern if you want to make one. Let me know how long it takes you.

http://michaels.lionbrand.com/patterns/80735AD.html

6 comments on “Rudy the Rectangle

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    What?! What?! You haven’t finished the mitten?! 😉

  2. Regardless of how long he takes you, he’s darling! 😉

  3. Karen P says:

    Rudy took me about an hour to make. But then, I also do a lot of embroidery so I knew how to make the knots on the eyes. I also had been doing a lot of amigurumi so Rudy was actually much faster and easier to make. I used size F hook and Lion Brand Designer Sport Yarn instead of the Vanna. It’s a softer yarn and was on sale for 2 skeins for $3. Rudy is really really cute. He’s a great scrap yarn project and I’m still trying to figure out what to make with all the leftover yarn.

  4. Judah says:

    Make afghans! They use up leftover yarn nicely. 🙂

    When my UFOs start piling up, I find it helpful to make a list of them (yes, daunting, I know!) and then for each one, list the tasks necessary to complete them. Each time I finish one of those tasks, I can check it off, and so I see progress. It is a good motivator to keep that list from becoming too overwhelming.

  5. don_mae says:

    I am starting to accumulate a nice little pile of leftover yarn. So far it all fits in a 12 by 12 plastic bag. 😀

  6. Rudy the rectangle i made this pattern in four hours many of my friends adored Rudy The Rectangle I am a fast crochet and knitter thank you for Michaels free patterns. The story is I lost the pattern the first time i got it. And I didn’t remember the name. I was desperate and succeeded and found the pattern online. Took me a 5 hours and found my Rudy the Rectangle the two eyed creator. Happy Ending! (; Thank You,
    ;*Yolanda G. Benavides

Leave a Reply

