Got Hearts On My Mind

Monday, January 12

Usually I decide to make Valentine’s Day stuff around the 3rd week of February. 🙂

But this year, I am a few weeks ahead. I dug out some heart supplies I have had for years and bought a few red heart shaped buttons at JoAnn’s when I was there for crochet class.

I made several bracelets like this one. Used up all of my heart buttons.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Notice anything. Are my pictures any better? I have been using the bells and whistles on my camera. I am stealing the background idea from my friend Sue. She recently posted some photos using newspaper as the backdrop. I liked it so much, I told her I planned to steal her idea. I used a calendar page.

Here are the supplies I used for the bracelet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I also made this necklace and earrings.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

7 comments on “Got Hearts On My Mind

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    That looks good! And I like the calendar idea.

  2. Quilty says:

    There can be no argument… you are one very talented lady! 🙂

  3. Gaye says:

    LOVE the Heart Bracelet!!! What size jump rings did you use, and what are those little round things with the hole in the center?
    Your crochet is looking great!!!! I’m leaving for a cruise on Friday… my yarn and crochet hook are going with me.. can’t wait to relax out at sea crocheting!!!!
    Gaye Ü

  4. don_mae says:

    Awww, thank you so much. I had intended to enter this bracelet in a beading contest but was so proud of it, I just wanted to take pictures and post them for all to see.

    Gaye, the jump rings are fairly large. No mention of size was on the packaging. Bought them at Michaels. 5/8″ outer diameter and I am guessing 18 gauge. The little round things with the hole are parts of the chain links you see in the photo. I separated them from the smaller rings and used them to connect to the larger jump rings. Have fun on your cruise!!

  5. don_mae says:

    Moving comment to this thread…

    On March 9, 2010 at 3:36 pm Maria Sherman Said:

    Hi Donna – I like the heart bracelet you just made as well. In the supplies picture, you have a flat-topped double loop connector that you use to connect the jump rings. Can you tell me where they are available? I would LOVE to get hold of some of these. Thanks.

    • don_mae says:

      On March 9, 2010 at 7:08 pm don_mae Said:

      Hi Maria. I used chain links purchased from Munro Crafts. (I have a link to their site on my blog under Macrame Suppliers)

      I pry them off as needed. The leftover little ring makes a perfect ring for a clasp. It is welded and sturdy. I took a photo of the chain link.

  6. don_mae says:

    Moving comment to this thread…

    On March 10, 2010 at 11:54 pm Maria Sherman Said:

    Thanks for the info Donna. I will contact Munro crafts and get me a whole bunch of them. It is exactly what I’ve been looking for for a number of my projects.
    I make jewelry, do scrapbooking, and make cards for shut-ins and family/friends. I also have a huge garden in summer that people call my ‘park’,and do oil and acrylic painting, so, much as I would like to add to my list of activities, I find myself short of time with a husband and 12 grandchildren also demanding some attention. My sister crochets as well, so we exchange craft products so we can cover more bases. I look at your blog and can’t imagine how you find the time!! But keep it up, we will share your accomplishments from afar.
    Love all your work!

Leave a Reply

