Flashlight Beading

Monday, December 29

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Being one of 400,000 in Michigan without electricity for a day was no picnic. Well, actually it was 15 hours. That’s a long time staring at your significant other, in my case, my hubby.

What to do!!?? I didn’t feel much like moving around in the dark to stay warm so I piled on extra layers under my blue housecoat. Hat, wool scarf, wool socks. OK. Now what? Funny how much we depend on electronics 24/7. There was nothing to do. Hubby dug out his old silver battery operated radio. Last time it saw any action was during the August complete blackout around the country several years ago.

So, we sat glued to the radio listening to WWJ, the all news station, retelling and rehashing how winds up to 65 miles an hour wrecked havoc in Michigan. Yep, but… please tell me something I don’t already know. Like WHEN will I be able to unwrap myself and stop looking like a big blue Snowman!!

To keep from dying of boredom, I decided to bead. By flashlight!! My cold fingers had a time getting wire into tiny seed beads but here’s what I ended up with. I just need to braid the other two bracelets and add the clasp. Not bad, huh, for beading in the dark?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

6 comments on “Flashlight Beading

  1. Very Pretty!

    Don’t you have some oil lamps or a Coleman lantern for backup lights?

  2. don_mae says:

    Thanks!! Nope, just candles and flashlight. Will have to get a couple next time I am near a sporting goods store. The wind has been howling all afternoon. Hope the lights stay on.

  3. Crystal says:

    As an alternative to oil lamps, you might like a little battery-operated lamp. We bought a couple of them a few years ago for our power outages. They throw more light than a flashlight. We can easily carry them from room to room in the darkness – and they seem safer, too! One or both can be easily turned off to save the battery if desired.

    Love the bracelet! Purple is my favorite color.

  4. Lucy Thompson says:

    Where are you in Michigan? I was born and raised thee but moved to Australia when I married in 1977. Always like news of home!! Keep warm and cozy-we are heading into the hot weather-not my favorite!!! Cheers

  5. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Crystal. Yep need to get some of those too.

    Lucy, I am in Southfield, just outside of Detroit. You can send me some of your warm weather!!

  6. Lucy Thompson says:

    I have family in Rochester Hills and I miss the winter-Melbourne has 4 seasons in a day,just without the snow!!

Leave a Reply

