Look What I Made From Black Rubber Tubing

Saturday, July 26

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yesterday felt like a summer school project. One of those “How I spent my day” days.

I spent it following behind hubby going from an auto parts store to hardware store to gigantic handyman’s store. Looking for more rubber tubing and washers. I found everything I was looking for though I didn’t BUY everything I was looking for. The price of brass washers was way too high for what I wanted to pay. I got 300 zinc washers in three different sizes for a song and a dance. But for the same price I paid for the 300, I only got 30 of the brass ones. What a rip-off!! 😀 Remind me to stick to Michael’s and stay out of hardware stores.

But the experience was an interesting one and I had fun watching hubby go up and down the aisles. Same as I did. And look for a floor person. Same as I did. And ask a lot of questions. “Where is… Do you have it in…” Same as I did in Lowe’s. LOL!!

I sort of went crazy making stuff with my black rubber tubing. I had some agate gemstones and wooden beads I thought would go nicely with the tubing. I added several other bead sizes and ended up with these. I had enough beads to make two sets. 2 necklaces, 2 bracelets and 2 pairs of earrings. Except for a couple beads they are almost identical.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Then I made this yellow bracelet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


I like working with tubing if only I could figure out a way to cleanly cut the rubber. I have tried scissors, small and large. Also my fabric rotary cutter, a knife. Nothing so far cuts clean. Hubby suggested a paper cutter. Haven’t tried that yet. On my list.

My bracelet looks nothing like those in the book I used as a reference. But I still like how it turned out.

I found clear plastic tubing at the hardware store that I am dying to experiment with. I have an idea of stringing beads INSIDE the tubing. Not sure if it will work but I am thinking it will.

Here’s how I spent my Friday. How did you spend yours? 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

6 comments on “Look What I Made From Black Rubber Tubing

  1. marva says:

    the first pic of jewelery got me really inspired…looking to make jewelery part time

  2. don_mae says:

    Hi there. I love this set so much I am going to keep one set for myself. It is very light on the wrist and I love watching the dangles as I am wearing it. Would love to see what you make. Thanks for reading my blog!!

  3. Linda Wood says:

    Love your jewelry!! I am making resin pendants that look like fused glass. I’m trying to find 4-5 mm black ruber tubing to make the necklaces.. where did you find it?
    Thanks!

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi Linda. Try the auto parts store. That is where I found it. They had 4 different sizes.

  5. immagshailm says:

    Отличный блог, интересное и полезное содержание!

  6. Ann says:

    I have a suggestion for you on how you might cleanly cut the tubing. Using one of those cutters with the snap off blades or similar,(big heavy duty one is best) extend the blade till it’s quite long. Choose where you want to cut the tubing and set the blade tip at that point. Then roll the tubing under the blade while exerting some pressure. Don’t try to cut all the way through by just pressing down. Try to keep the tubing straight (as in not curved in a coil as it comes) and I think you will get a good clean cut. You may need to have someone else hold the tubing out straight while you roll it under the blade or possibly put it in hot water and stretch it out to cool so that it stays straight on it’s own. I have used this method to cut tubular things like this before and it has worked well. I hope I have explained this well enough. Feel free to write back if I can be of further help.

Leave a Reply

